บทนำ
พลังงานลม (Wind energy) ถือเป็นพลังงานทดแทนรูปแบบหนึ่ง ซึ่งเกิดจากการเปลี่ยนแปลงความร้อนบนพื้นผิวโลก การหมุนของโลกและสภาพภูมิประเทศ
 
สาขาที่เกี่ยวข้อง
วิทยาศาสตร์และเทคโนโลยี สิ่งแวดล้อม วิศวกรรมศาสตร์
 
ขอบเขตที่ครอบคลุม
ระบบพลังงานลม เทคโนโลยีพลังงานลม การออกแบบระบบพลังงานลม การผลิตพลังงาน การพัฒนาเทคโนโลยีพลังงานลม

คำค้น
wind energy

Subject Specialist
Picture: Pakapun Panich

Pakapun Panich
Information Specialist
Tel: 022182930

All Items by Source

Books / Book Chapters

Introduction to Wind Energy Systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
ฟิสิกส์ของพลังงานลม ส่วนประกอบของเครื่องแปลงพลังงานลม ความสำคัญของการออกแบบ การทำงานและการควบคุมของเครื่องแปลงพลังงานลม การประเมินวงจรชีวิตของฟาร์มกังหันลม
ISBN: 978-3-642-32975-3 (Print) 978-3-642-32976-0 (Online)
Modeling of Wind Turbines with Doubly Fed Generator System Restricted Resource Some full text available
แบบจำลองสำหรับแอโรไดนามิกส์ของกังหัน พลศาสตร์โครงสร้างของกังหัน และการควบคุมกังหัน แบบจำลองของเครื่องกำเนิดและเครื่องแปลงไฟฟ้าสำหรับระบบเครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าชนิดป้อนสองทางและเครื่องแปลงไฟฟ้า และการควบคุมกำลังแบบรีแอคทีฟ
ISBN: 978-3-658-06881-3 (Print) 978-3-658-06882-0 (Online)
Stand-Alone and Hybrid Wind Energy Systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
มีเนื้อหาเกี่ยวกับเทคโนโลยีการเก็บพลังงาน การออกแบบ การพัฒนาระบบพลังงานและเทคโนโลยีการเก็บพลังงาน ระบบลม ลม-ดีเซล ลม-แสงอาทิตย์ ลม-ไฮโดรเจน ลม-น้ำ การเก็บพลังงานไฟฟ้า-เคมี การเก็บพลังงานล้อช่วยแรง การเก็บพลังงานอากาศอัด การใช้งานผสมผสานกับงานอื่น ๆ เช่น สิ่งปลูกสร้าง หรือกระบวนการแยกเกลือออกจากน้ำ
ISBN: 978-1-84569-527-9
Wind and Wildlife Restricted Resource Some full text available
เอกสารการประชุมวิชาการ Wind Energy and Wildlife Impacts เดือนตุลาคม 2012 เมลเบิร์น ประเทศออสเตรเลีย เกี่ยวกับการสำรวจและการประเมินฟาร์มกังหันลมใหม่ การสังเกต การบรรเทา และการชดเชย
ISBN: 978-94-017-9489-3 (Print) 978-94-017-9490-9 (Online)
Wind Energy - Impact of Turbulence Restricted Resource Some full text available
นำเสนอผลของการสัมมนา Wind Energy and the Impact of Turbulence on the Conversion Process ที่โอลเดนเบิร์ก เยอรมนี ในปี 2012 ซึ่งได้รับการสนับสนุนจาก EUROMech, EAWE และ ERCOFATC
ISBN: 978-3-642-54695-2 (Print) 978-3-642-54696-9 (Online)
Wind Energy Meteorology Restricted Resource Some full text available
ฟิสิกส์เกี่ยวกับบรรยากาศเพื่อการกำเนิดกำลังลม
ISBN: 978-3-642-30522-1 (Print) 978-3-642-30523-8 (Online)
Wind Energy Systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
มีเนื้อหาเกี่ยวกับการออกแบบและการก่อสร้างระบบพลังงานลมที่เหมาะสมต่อการทำงานที่ปลอดภัยและเชื่อถือได้
ISBN: 978-1-84569-580-4
Wind energy systems : control engineering design
Print Location: 621.312136 G216W
เนื้อหาเกี่ยวกับ QFT ระบบพลังงานลม มาตรฐานและการรับรองสำหรับกังหันลม การควบคุมกังหันลม แบบจำลองทางอากาศพลศาสตร์และกลไกของกังหันลม แบบจำลองไฟฟ้าของกังหันลม และอื่น ๆ
ISBN: 9781439821794
Wind energy systems: solutions for power quality and stabilization
Print Location: 621.312136 A398W
ระบบการแปลงพลังงานลม ระบบกลไกและกำลังไฟฟ้า เครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าจากลม และอื่น ๆ
ISBN: 9781439856147
การศึกษาศักยภาพพลังงานลมสำหรับการผลิตไฟฟ้าในเขตภาคกลางของประเทศไทย
Print Location: 621.042 ก522
A study on potential of wind energy for electricity generation in Central Region of Thailand
มีเนื้อหาเกี่ยวกับทฤษฎีและกรอบแนวความคิดการวิเคราะห์ลม ทฤษฎีและกรอบแนวความคิดการวิเคราะห์เชิงเศรษฐศาสตร์ การศึกษาภาคสนามในการหาพื้นที่ศักยภาพพลังงานลมในพื้นที่ภาคกลาง แผนที่ข้อมูลลมที่ใช้อ้างอิงและผลการศึกษาข้อมูลลมจากกรมอุตุนิยมวิทยา การตั้งเสาวัดลมและติดตั้งเครื่องวัดความเร็วลม การวิเคราะห์ศักยภาพพลังงานลมในเขตภาคกลางของประเทศไทย การวิเคราะห์ทางด้านลม การวิเคราะห์ทางด้านเศรษฐศาสตร์

Journals / Magazines

Journal of Wind Energy Some full text available
Journal of Wind Energy is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of wind energy.
ISSN: 2356-7732 (Print)
ISSN: 2314-6249 (Online)
Wind Energy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wind Energy offers a major forum for the reporting of advances in this rapidly developing technology with the goal of realising the world-wide potential to harness clean energy from land-based and offshore wind. The journal aims to reach all those with an interest in this field from academic research, industrial development through to applications, including individual wind turbines and components, wind farms and integration of wind power plants. Contributions across the spectrum of scientific and engineering disciplines concerned with the advancement of wind power capture, conversion, integration and utilisation technologies are essential features of the journal.
ISSN: 1099-1824

Articles

A Market Based Scheme to Integrate Distributed Wind Energy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Efficiently integrating wind energy into the smart grid is gaining momentum under renewable portfolio standard (RPS) with deep wind penetration. Due to the randomness of wind energy production, ancillary service (AS) is needed in large amount to regulate wind power for system stability and reliability. As a result, the cost of wind power depends on the AS market and may be, quite higher than that of conventional power. Therefore, it is challenging to economically integrate wind energy with current power system to satisfy RPS. With the communication, sensing and advanced control features incorporated into the smart grid, the interactions among the grid components will facilitate solving this problem. In this paper, we consider the wind energy integration of small-scale utilities installed with wind turbines and acted as distributed energy resources (DERs). Since wind energy can be integrated to serve customer load or enter a separate green energy market, we propose a theoretical framework to dynamically determine the role of wind energy and provide long-term RPS guarantee. This approach results in a simple dynamic threshold control policy which maximizes the expectation of the profit for a green utility and is easily implemented online.
DOI: 10.1109/TSG.2012.2230278
A novel method of wind energy generation-the electrostatic wind energy converter Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Since ancient times humanity has been harnessing the power of the wind in various forms, such as discovering the planet in sailboats, creating living space in the Dutch polders, or providing bread by flour-grinding windmills. Since 1887 wind has also been used to generate electricity as the shift to renewable energy production is being made [1]. In order to fulfill the long-term carbon emission goals set by, for example, the EU for 2050, the share of renewable energy (wind, solar, hydro, biofuels) needs to increase substantially [2]. Of these various means of renewable energy, wind energy is still the largest part. Therefore, wind farms, both decentralized and bulk, are being constructed. In 2010 wind energy constituted 2.5% of the global electricity production [3]. The article explores a novel method of wind energy generation using an electrostatic wind energy converter or EWICON.
DOI: 10.1109/MEI.2014.6843763
A review on active wind energy harvesting designs Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This paper aims to review various designs and effects of vibrations generated by fluids, different bluff bodies, aeroelastic instabilities, and study the methods for harvesting their energies by means of piezoelectric materials. Wind based energy harvesting is increasingly pursued due to the ubiquitous nature of excitation source as well as the strong correlation with other types of excitation. Vortex-induced vibrations (VIV), as well as vibrations induced by bluff bodies, and the effect of their own shape on potential gains has been investigated. In addition, the effect of aeroelastic instability phenomenon such as fluttering and galloping on energy generation is investigated. The energy generation density of various methods is evaluated by comparing the gains of different approaches. The study results show that energy densities and peak power outputs vary widely depending on device configuration and instability phenomenon. Additionally, peak power output versus bandwidth varies greatly between the phenomena suggesting specialized applications for a given phenomenon. Through these study results, new research paths to move forward in this field are suggested when paired with the latest examples at active energy harvesting.
DOI: 10.1007/s12541-013-0226-4
A wind energy harvester for low power wireless sensor networks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: At present a lot of research is being done to find alternative methods of powering up wireless sensor networks (WSN) in order to increase the lifespan of these networks. Due to large efforts the power consumptions of these sensors are continuously being improved to operate in the milliwatt and microwatt range, therefore making renewable energy suitable for this application. In this paper a wind energy harvester (WEH) was designed, built, and tested to determine if wind energy is viable for supplying power to WSN's. The WEH consisted of a wind generator and a power management unit to store and condition the generated energy. The wind generator designed utilizes aero - elastic flutter to convert wind energy into electrical energy, and is similar to the Windbelt that was developed by humdinger wind energy [2]. The wind generator consisted of a frame to hold components of the generator together, a membrane to convert wind energy in to mechanical energy, and an electromagnetic transducer to convert the mechanical energy in to electrical energy. The results show that the wind generator is operational at wind speeds of 2-9m/s, and is capable of supplying 70mW of power, and thereby making it extremely possible to increase the lifespan of a WSN. The power management unit consisted of the conventional diode bridge rectifier without maximum power point tracking (MPPT) resulting in poor efficiencies of the WEH.
DOI: 10.1109/I2MTC.2012.6229698
Adaptive fault diagnosis and active tolerant control for wind energy conversion system Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The fault mathematic model of the transmission part of wind energy conversion system (WECS) is established, and adaptive fault observer is constructed in the presence of unknown disturbance, it can detect the faults of the system, and estimate these faults. Then, based on fault observer, an active tolerant controller is designed to ensure the stability of the transmission part of WECS with fault. The simulation results of different type faults of generator show the effectiveness and feasibility of adaptive fault diagnosis methods.
DOI: 10.1007/s12555-013-0148-z
Aerodynamic performance of multifunctional wind energy unit for long distance polar rover Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The limited energy stored in the polar rover greatly restricts the polar rover to execute a long distance exploration. For making full use of the Antarctic renewable wind energy, a long distance polar rover installed a multifunctional wind energy unit is introduced in this paper. The multifunctional wind energy unit combines the functions of wind driving and wind power generation, which can convert the force acting on the unit generated by the wind energy into the rover's driving force and the wind power at the same time. Based on the theory of aerodynamics, the quantitative relations among thrust force, torque, free stream velocity and blade parameters are established. Meanwhile, the mathematical expression between the thrust coefficient, power coefficient and attack angle and wind direction angle is deduced respectively. The research results in this paper provide the mechanical structure and theoretical reference for the unmanned polar rover to convert the Antarctic renewable wind energy into its own driving power.
DOI: 10.1109/ICMA.2014.6885989
An approach to simulate wind fields around an urban environment for wind energy application Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This work proposes an approach to simulate wind flow fields around an urban environment with the aim of evaluating the potential impact of buildings on the general wind patterns and power production using the current generation of commercial wind turbines. The simulation process was performed with the aid of accessible computational tools that can potentially render the proposed procedure applicable in other cases of interest. The roughness of the urban environment was defined as the association of roughness map, topography, and an alternative process for obtaining the volumetry of buildings. A case study was conducted in a region located at the district of Boa Viagem (Recife-PE) for assessing the applicability of the approach. Scenarios were designed in order to simulate wind flow patterns and pre-identify sites that have suitable wind energy potential for electric power production by investigating the combination of wind speed magnitude and turbulence intensity. From the results obtained, it was possible to identify zones of potential wind sources that are not detected in classical wind atlas probably due to the influence of the built environment on local wind flow patterns.
DOI: 10.1007/s10652-012-9258-z
An Assessment of Offshore Wind Energy Potential on Phangan Island by in Southern Thailand Some full text available
Abstract: This research aims to assess the potential of offshore wind energy in Suratthani province, located in the middle of peninsular Thailand. A 120 m Guy Mast triangle tower was installed at the Phangan Subdistrict Administrative Organization area, Phangan Island. Five weather measurement points including wind speed anemometers, relative humidity detectors and dry bulb ambient air thermometers were placed at heights of 65, 90, 100, 110 and 120 m, while the two wind vane detectors were fixed at 100 and 120 m heights. Data were continuously recorded at 10 min sampling intervals, from December 2011 to November 2012. The average wind speed was 4.28 m/s and the mean wind power density was 85 W/m2. The dominant wind direction was from the north. Based on these data, 9 cases of wind farm layout were simulated to assess their performance. The capacity factors of offshore wind farms were in the range of 0.98-2.68. This suggests that the location and layouts simulated would be poorly utilized investments. However, the higher wind speeds of elevated areas of the island should be similarly assessed.
DOI: 10.1016/j.egypro.2014.07.080
Assessing the vulnerability of wind energy to climate change and extreme events Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This article presents a review of the status and basis of wind-generated electricity production, the state of knowledge regarding possible changes in the spatio-temporal characteristics of the wind resource and wind turbine operating conditions, the principal extreme events that are of relevance to the wind energy industry, and the major potential vulnerabilities of the wind energy industry to climate change, with a specific focus on extreme events. Generally, the magnitude of projected changes over Europe and the contiguous USA are within the ‘conservative’ estimates embedded within the Wind Turbine Design Standards. However, more research is needed to quantify (i) how global climate evolution may influence the operation of wind turbines outside these regions, (ii) events causing coincident extreme wind speeds, gusts, and vertical wind shear, and (iii) combined wind-wave loading on offshore turbines.
DOI: 10.1007/s10584-013-0889-y
Assessment of Onshore Wind Energy Potential Using Regional Atmospheric Modeling System (RAMS) for Thailand Some full text available
Abstract: This paper presents an assessment of the onshore wind energy potential in Thailand using the Regional Atmospheric Modeling System (RAMS). A 9 km resolution, 1,150 km by 1,750 km, wind resource map at 120 m elevation above ground level (agl) is produced based on the NCEP reanalysis database for the three year period of 2009-2011. The onshore wind resource map is validated by comparing the modeling results to observed wind data at 100 m agl from the Pollution Control Department (PCD) of Thailand, and at 120 m agl from the National Research Council of Thailand (NRCT). The Mean Square Error (MSE) is computed and is use as the main criterion to evaluate the simulation results. Results showed that, for the study area, the annual mean wind speeds at 120 m agl are in the range of 1.60-5.83 m/s. For its part, the maximum annual mean power density at 120 m agl is approximately 200 W/m2 which corresponds to a wind power density of Class 2. Results show that the region has a good wind regime in the mountain areas of western, southern and eastern Thailand. Further assessment is needed to determine if the onshore wind energy resource could be developed and exploited in order to achieve national renewable energy policy targets in Thailand.
DOI: 10.1016/j.egypro.2014.07.102
Biogas reforming using renewable wind energy and induction heating Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: While the benefits of renewable energy are well known and used to influence government policy there are a number of problems which arise from having significant quantities of renewable energies on an electricity grid. The most notable problem stems from their intermittent nature which is often out of phase with the demands of the end users. This requires the development of either efficient energy storage systems, e.g. battery technology, compressed air storage etc. or through the creation of demand side management units which can utilise power quickly for manufacturing operations. Herein a system performing the conversion of synthetic biogas to synthesis gas using wind power and an induction heating system is shown. This approach demonstrates the feasibility of such techniques for stabilising the electricity grid while also providing a robust means of energy storage. This exemplar is also applicable to the production of hydrogen from the steam reforming of natural gas.
DOI: 10.1016/j.cattod.2014.06.010
Design of a Small-Scale Prototype for Research in Airborne Wind Energy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Airborne wind energy is a new renewable technology that promises to deliver electricity at low costs and in large quantities. Despite the steadily growing interest in this field, few results with real-world data have been reported so far, due to the difficulty faced by researchers when realizing an experimental setup. Indeed airborne wind energy prototypes are mechatronic devices involving many multidisciplinary aspects, for which there are currently no established design guidelines. With the aim of making research in airborne wind energy accessible to a larger number of researchers, this paper provides such guidelines for a small-scale prototype. The considered system has no energy generation capabilities, but it can be realized at low costs, used with little restrictions and it allows one to test many aspects of the technology, from sensors to actuators to wing design and materials. In addition to the guidelines, the paper provides the details of the design and costs of an actual experimental setup which has been successfully used to develop and test sensor fusion and automatic control solutions.
DOI: 10.1109/TMECH.2014.2322761
Electrical machines and power‐electronic systems for high‐power wind energy generation applications: Part I – market penetration, current technology and advanced machine systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract:
Purpose
– Wind energy has matured to a level of development at which it is ready to become a generally accepted power generation technology. The aim of this paper is to provide a brief review of the state of the art in the area of electrical machines and power‐electronic systems for high‐power wind energy generation applications. As the first part of this paper, latest market penetration, current technology and advanced electrical machines are addressed.
Design/methodology/approach
– After a short description of the latest market penetration of wind turbines with various topologies globally by the end of 2010 is provided, current wind power technology, including a variety of fixed‐ and variable‐speed (in particular with doubly‐fed induction generator (DFIG) and permanent magnet synchronous generator (PMSG) supplied with partial‐ and full‐power converters, respectively) wind power generation systems, and modern grid codes, is presented. Finally, four advanced electrical‐machine systems, viz., brushless DFIG, open winding PMSG, dual/multi 3‐phase stator‐winding PMSG and magnetic‐gear outer‐rotor PMSG, are identified with their respective merits and challenges for future high‐power wind energy applications.
Findings
– For the time being, the gear‐drive DFIG‐based wind turbine is significantly dominating the markets despite its defect caused by mechanical gears, slip rings and brush sets. Meanwhile, direct‐drive synchronous generator, especially utilizing permanent magnets on its rotor, supplied with a full‐capacity power converter has become a more effective solution, particularly in high‐power offshore wind farm applications.
Originality/value
– This first part of the paper reviews the latest market penetration of wind turbines with a variety of mature topologies, by summarizing their advantages and disadvantages. Four advanced electrical‐machine systems are selected and identified by distinguishing their respective merits and challenges for future high‐power wind energy applications.
DOI: 10.1108/03321641311293731
Electrical machines and power‐electronic systems for high‐power wind energy generation applications: Part II – power electronics and control systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract:
Purpose
– Power‐electronic systems have been playing a significant role in the integration of large‐scale wind turbines into power systems due to the fact that during the past three decades power‐electronic technology has experienced a dramatic evolution. This second part of the paper aims to focus on a comprehensive survey of power converters and their associated control systems for high‐power wind energy generation applications.
Design/methodology/approach
– Advanced control strategies, i.e. field‐oriented vector control and direct power control, are initially reviewed for wind‐turbine driven doubly fed induction generator (DFIG) systems. Various topologies of power converters, comprising back‐to‐back (BTB) connected two‐ and multi‐level voltage source converters (VSCs), BTB current source converters (CSCs) and matrix converters, are identified for high‐power wind‐turbine driven PMSG systems, with their respective features and challenges outlined. Finally, several control issues, viz., basic control targets, active damping control and sensorless control schemes, are elaborated for the machine‐ and grid‐side converters of PMSG wind generation systems.
Findings
– For high‐power PMSG‐based wind turbines ranging from 3 MW to 5 MW, parallel‐connected 2‐level LV BTB VSCs are the most cost‐effective converter topology with mature commercial products, particularly for dual 3‐phase stator‐winding PMSG generation systems. For higher‐capacity wind‐turbine driven PMSGs rated from 5 MW to 10 MW, medium voltage multi‐level converters, such as 5‐level regenerative CHB, 3‐ and 4‐level FC BTB VSC, and 3‐level BTB VSC, are preferred. Among them, 3‐level BTB NPC topology is the favorite with well‐proven technology and industrial applications, which can also be extensively applicable with open‐end winding and dual stator‐winding PMSGs so as to create even higher voltage/power wind generation systems. Sensorless control algorithms based on fundamental voltages/currents are suggested to be employed in the basic VC/DPC schemes for enhancing the robustness in the entire PMSG‐based wind power generation system, due to that the problems related with electromagnetic interferences in the position signals and the failures in the mechanical encoders can be avoided.
Originality/value
– This second part of the paper for the first time systematically reviews the latest state of arts with regard to power converters and their associated advanced control strategies for high‐power wind energy generation applications. It summarizes a variety of converter topologies with pros and cons highlighted for different power ratings of wind turbines.
DOI: 10.1108/03321641311293740
Electrolyzer models for hydrogen production from wind energy systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The continuous progress on the expansion of renewable energies leads to the development of hybrid power systems, where several power sources contribute to provide a clean and reliable alternative to traditional fossil fuels. The hydrogen technology is viewed with particular interest in this regard. Hydrogen is an outstanding energy carrier that can be exploited for various applications, including electricity generation. Hence, production of hydrogen from renewable sources has received the attention of many researchers lately. With this purpose, this paper deals with the coupled operation of electrolyzer (EZ) and wind turbine. Four different EZ models are presented and evaluated in this work. These models are aggregated to a variable speed wind turbine model using MATLAB/Simulink. The four configurations are evaluated, and their responses compared, under variable wind speed and grid demand.
DOI: 10.1016/j.ijhydene.2014.12.125
Environmental issues associated with wind energy – A review Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Recognized as one of the most mature renewable energy technologies, wind energy has been developing rapidly in recent years. Many countries have shown interest in utilizing wind power, but they are concerned about the environmental impacts of the wind farms. The continuous growth of the wind energy industry in many parts of the world, especially in some developing countries and ecologically vulnerable regions, necessitates a comprehensive understanding of wind farm induced environmental impacts. The environmental issues caused by wind farms were reviewed in this paper by summarizing existing studies. Available mitigation measures to minimize these adverse environmental impacts were discussed in this document. The intention of this paper is to provide state-of-the-art knowledge about environmental issues associated with wind energy development as well as strategies to mitigate environmental impacts to wind energy planners and developers.
DOI: 10.1016/j.renene.2014.10.074
Estimation of wind energy over roof of two perpendicular buildings Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Wind energy development in a built up environment will be an important subject for future sustainable cities. Maturing CFD technology is making more wind flow simulation experiments available, which can be validated by in situ and wind tunnel measurements. Starting from research on wind accumulation by the Venturi effect in built environment, this paper tries to establish the relationship between wind energy potential and the configuration of two perpendicular buildings by performing parametric CFD wind tests. Two reference buildings (width × length × height = 6 m × 15 m × 10 m) forming a symmetrical corner are chosen and different building lengths, widths, heights, corner separation distances, angles of inlet and altitudes of assessment are considered. Results show that, in converging inlet mode, wind energy potential over the roof generally increases sensibly as the corner separation becomes larger, while in diverging inlet mode it decreases rather slowly with corner enlargement. Meanwhile, compared with a single, isolated reference building, most of the corner configuration cases studied here show greater wind energy density over the roof.
DOI: 10.1016/j.enbuild.2014.11.072
Evaluation of prediction error effects in wind energy-based electric vehicle charging Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This paper first presents a battery operation scheduler for the sake of practical integration of wind energy generation and electric vehicle charging, and then measures its performance mainly focusing on the effect of wind speed prediction errors. The operation scheduler decides whether to charge or discharge a station battery on each time slot based on current wind speed reading and next speed prediction. Its control logic straightforwardly activates generation facilities according to the minimum wind speed for energy generation and the current battery capacity. Next-hour wind speed is predicted by an artificial neural network trained by a series of hour-by-hour speed records. The performance measurement results obtained from simulation show that the depletion ratio is affected by 6.8 % and the energy loss by 3.5 %. This result is valid for the whole given parameter range except only a few cases. Moreover, judging from the observation that the largest renewable energy loss is just 0.9 %, the battery management scheme overcomes the misprediction effect by adaptively compensating for the generation loss on each time slot.
DOI: 10.1145/2513228.2513229
How to harness wind energy with traction kites Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Kite power is a novel way of producing wind energy. One possible implementation uses the traction force of a fast-flying kite to drive a stationary generator on the ground. This concept aims at reducing the cost of energy produced by conventional wind turbines. There are however several technical challenges to overcome to develop kite power technology on a large scale. One of them arises from the light weight and flexible nature of the inflatable kite. This yields a tight coupling between the kite’s aero- and structural-dynamics, which is particularly critical when launching and retrieving the system. Computer models capable of predicting these interactions are at an early stage of development. This paper presents the grounds of an ongoing research project, which aims at computationally modelling fluid–structure interactions for kite power systems.
DOI: 10.1007/s11157-014-9360-4
Integration of plug-in electric vehicle charging and wind energy scheduling on electricity grid Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs) and wind energy are both key new energy technologies. However, they also bring challenges to the operation of the electricity grid. Charging a large number of PEVs requires a lot of grid energy, and scheduling wind energy is not trivial because of the intermittency. In this paper we propose a hierarchical control algorithm which integrates PEV charging and wind energy scheduling. It explores the controllable nature of PEV charging to accommodate the intermittent wind energy. The algorithm consists of three levels: the top-level controller solves the hourly scheduling of wind energy (and conventional generation) through an optimization problem, the middle-level controller determines sub-hourly scheduling of PEV charging to achieve load following, and the bottom-level controller uses grid frequency deviation as the feedback cue to control PEV charging in real time. The integrated controller achieves multiple goals, including optimal electricity cost, replacing fossil fuel generation by wind energy, reducing ancillary service by controlled PHV charging, and improving the quality of electricity service.
DOI: 10.1109/ISGT.2012.6175617
Life Cycle Assessment of Energy Balance and Emissions of a Wind Energy Plant Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Life cycle analysis (LCA) methodology was used to perform a quantitative, comparative analysis and rating of the construction and operation of a wind energy plant. For this case study, the Glacier Hills Wind Park (90 1.8-MW turbines in south-central Wisconsin) was evaluated. Significant environmental and economic benefits are often advertised with the installation of new wind energy facilities, although independent and comprehensive LCA and sustainable energy science are typically not implemented. Hence, a quantitative demonstration with LCA methodology of the life cycle emissions and environmental impact, from construction through operations, can greatly assist in highlighting significant areas of energy consumption and emissions during manufacturing, transportation, and construction of a wind farm. Results portray the amount of greenhouse gas emissions and energy consumption/generation over the life cycle of the wind park. Transportation of large components from overseas led to the consumption of considerable quantities of fossil fuel, responsible for up to 22 % of the total greenhouse gas emissions due to transportation. The energy payback ratio (25.5), energy payback time (12.3 months) and the total grams of equivalent CO2(eq) per kWh of energy (16.9) produced were calculated over the life time of this onshore wind farm.
DOI: 10.1007/s10706-013-9637-3
Maintenance logistics organization for offshore wind energy: Current progress and future perspectives Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Logistics and supply chain management of maintenance is a very critical task in the offshore wind energy industry. A failure to deliver proper maintenance services may adversely affect the wind farm availability and thereby reducing power output as well as profitability. The organization of maintenance logistics for offshore wind farms has received a reasonable attention in the literature to date. The purpose of this article is to review the state-of-the-art of maintenance logistics in offshore wind energy. It proposes a classification scheme involving three echelons of strategic, tactical and operational decision-making. The strategic echelon deals with decisions regarding wind farm design for reliability, location and capacity of maintenance accommodations, selection of wind farm maintenance strategy, and outsourcing the repair services. The tactical echelon embraces spare parts inventory management, maintenance support organization, and all decisions regarding purchase or lease of maintenance resources. The operational echelon includes scheduling of maintenance tasks, routing of vessels, and measuring the maintenance performance. Our findings indicate that the strategic decisions of maintenance logistics have received the most attention in the literature, followed by the tactical and operational decisions. Also, three categories of selection of maintenance strategy, maintenance support organization and scheduling of maintenance tasks are the most addressed areas of research.
DOI: 10.1016/j.renene.2014.11.045
Mathematical model of stand-alone wind energy generating system considering wind as a correlated random process Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: A mathematical simulation model of a stand-alone wind power system for supplying power to consumers without access to electrical grid is developed. The model can be used in the formation of the system from existing components taking into account consumer energy demand and wind properties at the place where the system is located considered as a correlated in time random process. New indicators of the system performance are proposed. Results of numerical calculations demonstrating the importance of temporal variability of wind in determining the parameters of the wind power generating system, especially the battery capacity, are presented.
DOI: 10.1134/S1064230713050031
Multi-objective design optimization of a large-scale directdrive permanent magnet generator for wind energy conversion systems Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This paper presents a simultaneous multiobjective optimization of a direct-drive permanent magnet synchronous generator and a three-blade horizontal-axis wind turbine for a large scale wind energy conversion system. Analytical models of the generator and the turbine are used along with the cost model for optimization. Three important characteristics of the system i.e., the total cost of the generator and blades, the annual energy output and the total mass of generator and blades are chosen as objective functions for a multi-objective optimization. Genetic algorithm (GA) is then employed to optimize the value of eight design parameters including seven generator parameters and a turbine parameter resulting in a set of Pareto optimal solutions. Four optimal solutions are then selected by applying some practical restrictions on the Pareto front. One of these optimal designs is chosen for finite element verification. A circuit-fed coupled time stepping finite element method is then performed to evaluate the no-load and the full load performance analysis of the system including the generator, a rectifier and a resistive load. The results obtained by the finite element analysis (FEA) verify the accuracy of the analytical model and the proposed method.
DOI: 10.1007/s11708-014-0320-z
Neutral current compensation techniques in autonomous wind energy sources Some full text available
Abstract: The problem of neutral current compensation has to be addressed in Wind Energy integrated weak micro-grids. This study analyses two types of techniques possible for implementation of neutral current compensation by drawing a comparative research of their application on the same wind energy conversion system. The hybrid micro-grid considered in the study comprises a synchronous diesel generator and an inverter-based wind generator. The results and analysis are conducted by time-domain simulations using MATLAB/Simulink software. The use of electronic power converters that also act as an active neutral current compensator or a zig-zag transformer connected with the load mitigates the problem of neutral current compensation to a large extent. The voltage unbalance factor is also significantly reduced due to neutral current compensation and power quality is enhanced. The results provide the actual operational limits possible under the set of given constraints.
DOI: 10.1007/s40095-014-0134-0
Prediction of wind energy using intelligent approach Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Wind energy is one of the most promising renewable energy sources for power generation. As India has wind energy potential of around 45195 MW and the installed capacity is 17967 MW only. Keeping in view of the aforesaid prediction of wind energy is an important study for harnessing the wind energy potential. Various conventional and intelligent models are available in the literature for the prediction of wind Power. In this paper fuzzy logic and ANN based models have been developed and presented for the prediction of wind power using wind speed and air density as input parameters. Obtained results are compared with the available models and found better. Therefore, the proposed ANN model may be useful for the prediction of wind power.
DOI: 10.1109/IICPE.2012.6450459
Reducing computational effort in the calculation of annual energy produced in wind farms Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Metaheuristic methods are commonly used in the optimization of wind farms by means of turbine micro-siting. The typical pattern search used by these methods to explore the solution space makes it necessary to repeatedly evaluate the objective function (and hence the annual energy produced by the wind plant under optimization) a large number of times. For each case, before evaluating energy production, it is necessary to calculate the wind speed deficit at the position of each turbine due to the wake effect: a very time-consuming task.
This paper presents a set of algorithms and ideas to reduce the computational time spent on the calculation of the wakes, and therefore in assessing the annual energy production of a wind farm. The improvements proposed here can be applied to any wind turbine layout, but in the case of rhomboidal-type arrangements of turbines, their regularity leads to the achievement of much greater reductions in the computation effort. Furthermore, for this case, the computer time results almost independent of the number of turbines.
These improvements have been successfully applied to a set of cases, and show that the computation time for the calculation of the yearly energy production of a wind farm with 100 turbines can be reduced between 300 and more than 20,000 times, by using the most efficient of the strategies proposed.
DOI: 10.1016/j.rser.2014.11.024
Sliding mode voltage control strategy for capturing maximum wind energy based on fuzzy logic control Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: A sliding mode voltage control strategy is proposed in this paper to capture the maximum electrical energy from wind. This control strategy mainly includes a fuzzy logic controller and a sliding mode voltage controller. The fuzzy logic controller is designed to derive the optimum DC-side voltage, while the sliding mode voltage controller is employed to track the derived optimum voltage with minimum steady-state error and hence to capture the maximum wind energy. This paper illustrates how major issues in the design and implementation of the two controllers can be handled effectively. Comparative experimental results demonstrate that significant performance improvements in maximum wind energy capture can be achieved by using the proposed control strategy.
DOI: 10.1016/j.ijepes.2015.01.029
Smoothing of Wind Power Fluctuations for Permanent Magnet Synchronous Generator-Based Wind Energy Conversion System and Fault Ride-through Consideration Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Due to the increment of penetration level of wind power generation, output power fluctuation is one of the most important issue's that can destabilize the power system operation. This article mainly deals with the smoothing of the output power fluctuations of a wind energy conversion system based permanent magnet synchronous generator and fault ride-through enhancement during a grid fault. The concerned wind energy conversion system based permanent magnet synchronous generator adopts an AC-DC-AC converter system. The proposed control method limits the wind energy conversion system output power by adjusting the pitch angle of the wind turbine blades when wind speed is above the rated wind speed. In the grid-side converter, a fuzzy logic controller is used to determine the torque reference for which the kinetic energy stored by the inertia of wind turbine can smooth the output power fluctuations of the permanent magnet synchronous generator. Also, the DC-link voltage, controlled by the grid-side inverter, is adjusted in accordance with the output power fluctuations of the permanent magnet synchronous generator using a voltage smoothing index. Moreover, in this aticle, the proposed method ensures that the wind turbine stays operational during grid faults and provides fast restoration once the fault is cleared. To show the effectiveness of the proposed method, simulations under different conditions have been performed by using MATLAB/Simulink® (The Math Works, Natick, MA, USA).
DOI: 10.1080/15325008.2014.983620
Soft methodology selection of wind turbine parameters to large affect wind energy conversion Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: In recent years the use of renewable energy including wind energy has risen dramatically. Because of the increasing development of wind power production, improvement of the control of wind turbines using classical or intelligent methods is necessary. To optimize the power produced in a wind turbine, it is important to determine and analyze the most influential factors on the produced energy. To build a wind turbine model with the best features, it is desirable to select and analyze factors that are the most influential to the converted wind energy. This process includes several ways to discover a subset of the total set of recorded parameters, showing good predictive capability. The method of ANFIS (adaptive neuro fuzzy inference system) was applied to the data resulting from this investigation. The ANFIS process for variable selection was implemented in order to detect the predominant variables affecting the converted wind energy. Then, it was used to determine how four parameters, blade pitch angle, rotor speed, wind speed and rotor radius, affect the wind turbine power coefficient. The results indicated that of all the parameters examined, blade pitch angle is the most influential to wind turbine power coefficient prediction, and the best predictor of accuracy.
DOI: 10.1016/j.ijepes.2014.12.086
Study on the wind energy resources assessment in wind power generation Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The wind energy resources assessment refers to a way to confirm the possibility of establishing a wind electric field based on the observation data on wind speed and direction through wind test station, as well as the data analysis and process for related data got from the local meteorological office long-range observation. At present, there has no universal wind energy analytic software for wind electric field in the domestic market, either few correlated software exist in the global market. And the RisoWASP (Wind Atlas Analysis and Application Program) developed by Denmark Laboratory is a common use for wind energy resources assessment. This article analyzed both the advantages and disadvantages of the RisoWASP software and some powerful software in china, and together with the comprehensive reference to the advantages of other assessment software, it concluded with a relative completed assessment for wind energy resources. In addition, with a view to such characteristics as a large data process and graphic making work in the wind energy resources assessment, this article put forward a concept to develop a new wind energy resources assessment software based on both the VB and ORACLE, which results from the wind energy resources analysis according to such integrated advantages as friendly interface of VB development software, strong diagram service and data.
DOI: 10.1109/AIMSEC.2011.6009905
The local energy indicator: designing for wind and solar energy systems in the home Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This paper proposes and investigates the area of local energy for interactive systems design. We characterize local energy in terms of three themes: contextuality, seasonality, and visibility/tangibility. Here we focus on two specific local energy technologies domestic, electrical generation from wind and solar. In order to investigate this area we design, deploy and study a novel local energy device: The Local Energy Indicator. We conclude by outlining directions for future work related to local energy for interactive design.
DOI: 10.1145/2317956.2318050
Theoretical analysis of a reverse osmosis desalination system driven by solar-powered organic Rankine cycle and wind energy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The utilization of renewable energy for desalination can solve the problems of energy crisis and fresh water shortage. In this study, a reverse osmosis (RO) desalination system driven by solar-powered organic Rankine cycle (ORC) and wind energy is proposed, which is different from the current desalination system driven by single energy source. In order to ensure the continuous production, energy storage units are employed. A mathematical model is established to simulate the overall system which mainly consists of a solar collector subsystem, an ORC subsystem, a wind power subsystem and a RO desalination subsystem. The sensitive analysis of some key parameters, namely turbine inlet pressure, condenser temperature of ORC, feed water pressure and the water salinity, is conducted to determine the relationship between parameters and fresh water output. The result shows daily fresh water output increases with the increase in the turbine inlet pressure under the given conditions. The condenser temperature has a significant effect on daily fresh water output. With the increase in feed water pressure, the fresh water output and the required membrane area both decreases. The fresh water output is also sensitive to the water salinity, while the required membrane area is less sensitive to it.
DOI: 10.1080/19443994.2014.927185
Web-based interactive animated virtual experiments for teaching wind energy utilization Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The ongoing energy transition from conventional to renewable energy sources increases the demand for qualified personnel in the field of alternative power generation. Especially wind energy plays an increasingly important role in today's power industry as more electricity is generated by wind on a global scale. The complex and multidisciplinary nature of wind energy conversion systems makes the understanding of this topic a challenging task. In this paper current e-learning trends, like virtual and remote experiments in electrical engineering education are discussed. A novel web-based learning module on wind energy conversion and control that utilizes easy-to use interactive virtual experiments is introduced. The first part of this module, which deals with the initial stage in the wind energy conversion process, is presented. Two interactive virtual experiments are developed that introduce the learner to the energy content of wind and the operation and power control of the wind rotor. The graphical user interface and the operation of the experiments are discussed in detail, as well as different learning objectives and interaction possibilities.
DOI: 10.1109/EPE.2013.6634686
Wind energy for telecom hybrid sites: challenges and experiences from a pilot site Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The use of renewable energy can reduce the diesel consumption and thereby the operational costs and CO2 emissions at telecom base stations that are not connected to a grid or connected to a weak grid. Whereas solar energy has been widely adopted for such hybrid telecom sites, wind energy has been less applied and studied. In addition to the extra civil works required, and the practicalities with logistics and installation, the use of wind energy represents some challenges different from solar energy due to the mechanical and electrical dynamics of the wind turbines and generators. This paper presents the experience with a live hybrid telecom site from more than one year of operation. The telecom site is powered by wind energy in addition to power from solar panels. A contactor in combination with the power grid connection is used to emulate the back-up power from a diesel generator. The result from the pilot site shows that the wind energy system has worked without any significant problems. The dump-load has been used only for 5% of the total wind energy produced. The site has been powered in average by about 60% renewable energy, and the wind energy has represented more than 10% of the total energy in average. This pilot site demonstrates that wind energy is a viable additional energy source for powering telecom sites where wind resources are sufficient. For an optimal capacity dimensioning of the wind energy system, telecom sites could be build “wind energy ready” so that decisions on and engineering of a possible wind energy system can be done after having obtained operational experience and site specific wind measurements.

Theses / Dissertations

A Climate-friendly Energy Future: Prospects for Wind Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The objective of this thesis is to evaluate the potential for wind as an alternative energy source to replace fossil fuels and reduce global CO 2 emissions. From 1995 to 2007, fossil fuels as the major energy source accounted for an addition of 89.3 Gt of carbon to the atmosphere over this period, 29 % of which was transferred to the ocean, 15 % to the global biosphere, with the balance (57 %) retained in the atmosphere. Building a low-carbon and climate-friendly energy system is becoming increasingly urgent to combat the threat of global warming.
Onshore wind resources in the contiguous US could readily accommodate present and anticipated future US demand for electricity. The problem with the output from a single wind farm located in any particular region is that it is variable on time scales ranging from minutes to days posing difficulties to incorporate relevant outputs into an integrated power system. The issue of interconnection of wind farms is studied with specific attention to the physical factors that determine the temporal variability of winds in the near surface region of the atmosphere.
From a global perspective, generation of electricity from wind is determined ultimately by the balance between the production and dissipation of kinetic energy in the atmosphere. The origin of wind energy from 1979 to 2010 is investigated. The atmosphere acts as a thermal engine to produce wind energy, absorbing heat at higher temperatures (approximately 256 K), releasing heat at lower temperatures (approximately 253 K), as a consequence producing wind energy at a rate of 2.45 W/m2 , with a thermodynamic efficiency of 1.03 %.
The continuous blowing of wind is maintained by the thermodynamic instability of the atmospheric system. A framework is constructed to probe the relationship between the energy and entropy of the atmosphere, and to quantify two variables, the maximum work and the maximum increase in entropy which represent the thermodynamic instability. A large value for either variable corresponds to high thermodynamic instability and large potential for the atmosphere to produce wind energy. The results offer a fresh perspective on the energetics of the atmosphere.
Active robust control of wind turbines Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The research work conducted in this thesis focuses on robustness of wind energy conversion system with respect to faults in pitch actuator in order to prevent unnecessary emergency shutdown, and keep the turbine operational without significant inefficiency in its overall performance. The objective is to investigate the feasibility of using a fault estimator and a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system as additional sensors to design a suitable control system for wind turbines. Robust control technique is used to address these issues.
Three controllers are proposed in this work that try to address sources of inaccuracy in wind turbine operation:
An active fault tolerant controller is first designed using a fault estimator. It is shown that a set of locally robust controllers with respect to the fault, together with a suitable smooth mixing approach, manages to overcome the problem of faults in the pitch actuator.
To address the wind-dependent behavior of turbines, a second controller is designed using the LIDAR sensor. In this configuration, LIDAR provides the look ahead wind information and generates a smooth scheduling signal to provide active robustness with respect to the changes in wind speed.
Lastly, utilizing both the fault estimator and LIDAR, a 2-dimensional wind-dependent active fault tolerant controller is developed to control the wind turbine in region 3 of operation.
The feasibility of the proposed ideas is verified in simulation. For this purpose, the US National Renewable Energy Laboratory's FAST code is used to model the 3-balded controls advanced research turbine. A discussion on practical considerations and ideas for future work are also presented.
An evaluation and parameterization of stably stratified turbulence: Insights on the atmospheric boundary layer and implications for wind energy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: This research focuses on the dynamics of turbulent mixing under stably stratified flow conditions. Velocity fluctuations and instabilities are suppressed by buoyancy forces limiting mixing as stability increases and turbulence decreases until the flow relaminarizes. Theories that ubiquitously assume turbulence collapse above a critical value of the gradient Richardson number (e.g. Ri > Ric ) are common in meteorological and oceanographic communities. However, most theories were developed from results of small-scale laboratory and numerical experiments with energetic levels several orders of magnitude less than geophysical flows. Geophysical flows exhibit strong turbulence that enhances the transport of momentum and scalars. The mixing length for the turbulent momentum field, L M , serves as a key parameter in assessing large-scale, energy-containing motions. For a stably stratified turbulent shear flow, the shear production of turbulent kinetic energy, P, is here considered to be of greater relevance than the dissipation rate of turbulent kinetic energy, ε. Thus, the turbulent Reynolds number can be recast as Re ≡ k2 /(νP) where k is the turbulent kinetic energy, allowing for a new perspective on flow energetics. Using an ensemble data set of high quality direct numerical simulation (DNS) results, large-eddy simulation (LES) results, laboratory experiments, and observational field data of the stable atmospheric boundary layer (SABL), the dichotomy of data becomes apparent. High mixing rates persist to strong stability (e.g. Ri [approximate] 10) in the SABL whereas numerical and laboratory results confirm turbulence collapse for Ri ∼ O (1). While this behavior has been alluded to in literature, this direct comparison of data elucidates the disparity in universal theories of stably stratified turbulence.
From this theoretical perspective, a Reynolds-averaged framework is employed to develop and evaluate parameterizations of turbulent mixing based on the competing forces of mean shear and buoyancy frequency, S and N, respectively. Length scale estimates for LM are given by LkS ≡ k1/2 /S and LkN ≡ k1/2 /N, where LkS provides an accurate estimate for eddy viscosity, νt , under neutral to strongly stable conditions for SABL data. The relative influence of shear and buoyancy are given by the ratio of the respective time scales, S-1 and N-1 , with the pertinent time scale of the large-scale motions, TP ≡ k/P, through the parameters STP and NTP . L kS 's range of applicability is further assessed in a STP -NTP parameter space. In developing these parameterizations, the stress-intensity ratio, c2 , is evaluated using high-Re stably stratified data and is shown to exhibit a near constant value (c2 [approximate] 0.25) for stably stratified geophysical turbulence. These findings provide a clear trajectory for numerical modeling of stably stratified geophysical shear turbulence without reliance on stability or damping functions, tuning parameters, or artificial parameterizations. An initial modeling study of moderate- Re channel and Ekman layer flows using the proposed parameterizations confirms this supposition.
Finally, it is in this new light that large-scale implications of wind energy can now be considered. As a first step in this process, computational fluid dynamics (CFD) studies of wind turbine interactions are carried out under neutrally stratified conditions. Simulations clearly show that actuator line models provide efficacy in wake generation, interaction, and restoration and highlight model requirements for stably stratified conditions. Results suggest that standard horizontal spacings of 5-10 rotor diameters yield significant reductions in power output and increases turbulence intensity and fatigue loading.
Condition monitoring system of wind turbine generators Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: The development and implementation of the condition monitoring systems (CMS) play a significant role in overcoming the number of failures in the wind turbine generators that result from the harsh operation conditions, such as over temperature, particularly when turbines are deployed offshore. In order to increase the reliability of the wind energy industry, monitoring the operation conditions of wind generators is essential to detect the immediate faults rapidly and perform appropriate preventative maintenance. CMS helps to avoid failures, decrease the potential shutdowns while running, reduce the maintenance and operation costs and maintain wind turbines protected. The knowledge of wind turbine generators' faults, such as stator and rotor inter-turn faults, is indispensable to perform the condition monitoring accurately, and assist with maintenance decision making.
Many techniques are utilized to avoid the occurrence of failures in wind turbine generators. The majority of the previous techniques that are applied to monitor the wind generator conditions are based on electrical and mechanical concepts and theories. An advanced CMS can be implemented by using a variety of different techniques and methods to confirm the validity of the obtained electrical and mechanical condition monitoring algorithms.
This thesis is focused on applying CMS on wind generators due to high temperature by contributing the statistical, thermal, mathematical, and reliability analyses, and mechanical concepts with the electrical methodology, instead of analyzing the electrical signal and frequencies trends only. The newly developed algorithms can be compared with previous condition monitoring methods, which use the electrical approach in order to establish their advantages and limitations. For example, the hazard reliability techniques of wind generators based on CMS are applied to develop a proper maintenance strategy, which aims to extend the system life-time and reduce the potential failures during operation due to high generator temperatures. In addition, the use of some advanced statistical techniques, such as regression models, is proposed to perform a CMS on wind generators. Further, the mechanical and thermal characteristics are employed to diagnose the faults that can occur in wind generators. The rate of change in the generator temperature with respect to the induced electrical torque; for instance is considered as an indicator to the occurrence of faults in the generators. The behavior of the driving torque of the rotating permanent magnet with respect to the permanent magnet temperature can also utilize to indicate the operation condition. The permanent magnet model describes the rotating permanent magnet condition during operation in the normal and abnormal situations. In this context, a set of partial differential equations is devolved for the characterization of the rotations of the permanent. Finally, heat transfer analysis and fluid mechanics methods are employed to develop a suitable CMS on the wind generators by analyzing the operation conditions of the generator's heat exchanger. The proposed methods applied based on real data of different wind turbines, and the obtained results were very convincing.
Modeling and control of a grid-connected small-scale windmill system using a pulse width modulated modular multilevel converter Restricted Resource Some full text available
Abstract: Topologies based on the modular multilevel converter (MMC) represent an attractive alternative against traditional two-level voltage source converter (VSC), as the interphase between renewable energy sources and the ac grid. In MMC topologies, total system losses are relatively low; thus the efficiency is consequently higher as compared to existing two-level VSCs. In this thesis, a pulse width modulated MMC-based back-to-back topology with a reduced number of levels is proposed for the grid-interconnection of a small-scale wind energy conversion system (SS-WECS). The SS-WECS is realized through the cascaded connection of a wind turbine, a permanent magnet synchronous generator (PMSG), two back-to-back connected MMCs interphased through a dc-link capacitor, a LC-filter and a coupling transformer. Mathematical modeling of the various components is developed throughout the thesis, along with a control strategy able to perform both maximum power point tracking and arbitrary reactive power injection. A pulse width modulation (PWM) technique is implemented in reduced level MMCs, to inject power into the grid with a low harmonic content. This allows size reduction of the LC-filter. The approach is validated via detailed PSCAD/EMTDC computer simulations using real wind speed data.
การหาขนาดที่เหมาะสมของแบตเตอรี่ในระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าพลังงานลมเพื่อช่วยลดการแกว่งของกำลังไฟฟ้า
Print Location: 530963 Some full text available
Determining optimal battery capacity of wind generator with power fluctuation consideration
สาระสังเขป: พลังงานลมเป็นพลังงานหมุนเวียนที่ได้รับความสนใจในการนำมาผลิตไฟฟ้า แต่ปัญหาใหญ่ที่พบจากการผลิตไฟฟ้าด้วยพลังงานลมคือ กำลังไฟฟ้า แรงดันไฟฟ้าและความถี่ทางไฟฟ้าที่ได้ จะมีค่าไม่คงที่เนื่องจากความไม่แน่นอนของความเร็วลม ซึ่งส่งผลให้เกิดปัญหาคุณภาพไฟฟ้าและเสถียรภาพของไฟฟ้า ปัญหาดังกล่าวสามารถแก้ไขได้โดย การติดตั้งแบตเตอรี่เข้ากับระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลม และสิ่งสำคัญที่ต้องคำนึงถึงในการติดตั้งแบตเตอรี่คือ ขนาดของแบตเตอรี่จะต้องมีความเหมาะสมกับกำลังการผลิต ซึ่งจะทำให้แบตเตอรี่สามารถลดการแกว่งของกำลังไฟฟ้า และช่วยควบคุมต้นทุนในการผลิตไฟฟ้าไม่ให้สูงเกินความจำเป็น วิทยานิพนธ์ฉบับนี้นำเสนอวิธีการคำนวณหาขนาดของแบตเตอรี่ที่เหมาะสม เพื่อช่วยแก้ปัญหาการแกว่งของกำลังไฟฟ้า โดยในขั้นตอนการวิเคราะห์ จะเริ่มจากการจำลองความเร็วลมที่ผ่านกังหันในแต่ละชั่วโมง ซึ่งรวมผลของความไม่แน่นอนด้วยแบบจำลองที่เหมาะสม และคำนวณกำลังไฟฟ้า แรงดันไฟฟ้าและความถี่ทางไฟฟ้า ผ่านแบบจำลองทางคณิตศาสตร์ของเครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าเหนี่ยวนำสองทางชนิดปรับ เปลี่ยนความเร็วได้ โดยใช้วิธีการติดตามกำลังลมสูงสุด ในส่วนของแบตเตอรี่นั้นจะใช้แบบจำลองทางคณิตศาสตร์ของแบตเตอรี่ชนิดกรด ตะกั่ว ร่วมกับวิธีการเชิงเลขเพื่อคำนวณหาขนาดของแบตเตอรี่ที่เหมาะสม โดยจะเลือกใช้ขนาดแบตเตอรี่จากข้อมูลจริงของบริษัทผู้ผลิต วิธีการที่นำเสนอนี้ได้ถูกทดสอบกับระบบทดสอบที่กำหนดขึ้น ซึ่งผลจากการทดสอบพบว่าเป็นที่น่าพอใจ
การออกแบบตัวควบคุมสำหรับระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลมที่ใช้เครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าเหนี่ยวนำแบบป้อนคู่โดยกรอบงานซาเกียน
Print Location: 530857 Some full text available
Controller design for DFIG-based wind power generation using Zakian's framework
สาระสังเขป: ในปัจจุบัน การผลิตไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลมมีสัดส่วนเพิ่มสูงขึ้นทั่วโลก เทคโนโลยีที่ใช้ใน การผลิตไฟฟ้าก้าวหน้าอย่างรวดเร็ว อย่างไรก็ตามพลังงานที่ผลิตได้ขึ้นอยู่กับความเร็วลมที่โดย ธรรมชาติแล้วแปรผันตามเวลาไม่แน่นอน ดังนั้นระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลมจึงอาจส่งผล กระทบต่อปัญหาเสถียรภาพเชิงความถี่ของระบบไฟฟ้าที่เชื่อมต่ออยู่ได้ วิทยานิพนธ์นี้ได้ออกแบบตัวควบคุมของระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลมที่ใช้ เทคโนโลยี เครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าเหนี่ยวนำแบบป้อนคู่โดยกรอบงานซาเกียน เพื่อลดผลกระทบเชิงความถี่ที่มีต่อ ระบบไฟฟ้าหลัก โดยการลดการแกว่งของกำลังไฟฟ้าจริงที่ผลิตได้จากระบบผลิตไฟฟ้าจาก พลังงานลม การออกแบบตัวควบคุมโดยกรอบงานซาเกียนซึ่งได้แก่ วิธีอสมการและหลักการเข้าคู่ เป็นหลักการออกแบบตัวควบคุมเพื่อให้ระบบเข้าคู่กับสิ่งแวดล้อมที่ระบบทำ งานอยู่ โดยมีการ กำหนดเงื่อนไขที่จะยอมรับผลตอบสนองในรูปอสมการ ในวิทยานิพนธ์นี้ได้ทดสอบตัวควบคุมที่ ออกแบบกับระบบทดสอบเครื่องกำเนิดไฟฟ้าสองเครื่องและระบบทดสอบสองพื้นที่ เชื่อมต่อกัน ภายใต้การรบกวนที่เกิดจากการเปลี่ยนแปลงความเร็วลม ผลการทดสอบปรากฏว่า ระบบผลิต ไฟฟ้าจากพลังงานลมที่ใช้ตัวควบคุมที่ออกแบบโดยวิธีอสมการและหลักการเข้าคู่ สามารถผลิต ไฟฟ้าได้ตามข้อกำหนดของการออกแบบ

Dictionaries

ศัพท์วิศวกรรมอุตสาหการและศัพท์พลังงาน (เฉพาะพลังงานรังสีอาทิตย์และพลังงานลม)
Print Location: 670.4203 ศ337

Encyclopedias

สารานุกรมพลังงานทดแทน Alternative Energy Encyclopedia
รวบรวมข้อมูลพลังงานทดแทนทุกด้าน โดยกรมพัฒนาพลังงานทดแทนและอนุรักษ์พลังงาน กระทรวงพลังงาน
ISBN: 978-974-9822-83-8

Organizations

THAIWEA
Thai Wind Energy Association เป็นหน่วยงานของไทยที่นำลมมาใช้ เป็นการร่วมมือกันระหว่างสมาชิกทั้งไทยและต่างประเทศจากองค์กร สถาบัน และบริษัทที่เกี่ยวข้อง เพื่อสนับสนุนและขับเคลื่อนเทคโนโลยีพลังงานลมในประเทศไทย
Address: 40/857 Moo 7 Soi Navamin 109, Bungkum, Bangkok 10230
Tel. (+66)2 519 2753
Fax. (+66)2 519 2754
Email: info@thaiwindenergy.org
กรมพัฒนาพลังงานทดแทนและอนุรักษ์พลังงาน กระทรวงพลังงาน
เป็นหน่วยงานที่รับผิดชอบในการส่งเสริมประสิทธิภาพการใช้พลังงาน กำกับการอนุรักษ์พลังงาน จัดหาแหล่งพลังงาน พัฒนาทางเลือกการใช้พลังงานแบบผสมผสาน และเผยแพร่เทคโนโลยีด้านพลังงานอย่างเป็นระบบต่อเนื่อง
ข้อมูลติดต่อ: เลขที่ 17 ถนนพระรามที่ 1 เขตปทุมวัน กรุงเทพมหานคร 10330
โทรศัพท์: 0-2223-2593-9, 0-2222-4102-9
โทรสาร: 0-2225-3785

Researcher / Faculty / Person as Information Source

ดร.ชนินทร์ ตรงจิตภักดี
อาจารย์ภาควิชาวิศวกรรมการบินและอวกาศ คณะวิศวกรรมศาสตร์ มหาวิทยาลัยเกษตรศาสตร์
สาขาวิจัยที่เชี่ยวชาญ: CFD,Rotary Wing Aerodynamics, Wind Energy Engineering
Email: fengcht@ku.ac.th
นางสาวพิสมัย เสถียรยานนท์
ผู้เชี่ยวชาญด้านพลังงานทดแทน กรมพัฒนาพลังงานทดแทนและอนุรักษ์พลังงาน กระทรวงพลังงาน
Tel. 02-223-0021-9 Ext. 1205
Email: pisamai@dede.go.th

Web Sites / Web Pages

energypedia
แพลทฟอร์มสำหรับการแลกเปลี่ยนความรู้เรื่องพลังงานหมุนเวียนและการใช้พลังงานในประเทศกำลังพัฒนา
GWEC Resource contains images Resource contains video
GWEC ย่อมาจาก Global Wind Energy Council เป็นการรวมกลุ่มทางการค้านานาชาติเพื่ออุตสาหกรรมพลังงานลม ในเว็บไซต์ประกอบด้วยข่าว สิ่งพิมพ์ สื่อต่าง ๆ เช่น วิดีโอ รูปภาพ
reegle
เข้าถึงสารสนเทศคุณภาพสูงเกี่ยวกับพลังงานหมุนเวียน และการเปลี่ยนแปลงสภาพภูมิอากาศ เช่น ประวัติโดยย่อของพลังงานของประเทศ การค้นหาข้อมูลพลังงานสะอาด เป็นต้น
ScienceDaily Resource contains video
ข่าวและวิดีโอเกี่ยวกับวิทยาศาสตร์ สุขภาพ สิ่งแวดล้อม เทคโนโลยี และอื่น ๆ จากบริการข่าวและมหาวิทยาลัยชั้นนำ วารสารทางวิทยาศาสตร์ และองค์กรวิจัย
Wind Energy Development Programmatic EIS
ศูนย์ออนไลน์สำหรับสารสนเทศสาธารณะและเกี่ยวข้องกับ Wind Energy Development Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement (Wind Energy Programmatic EIS) ซึ่งใช้ในการประเมินสิ่งตีพิมพ์ที่เกี่ยวกับการพัฒนาพลังงานลมในเมืองทางฝั่งตะวันตก (ยกเว้นอลาสก้า)
ไทยวินด์มิลล์
มีจุดประสงค์เพื่อถ่ายทอด แลกเปลี่ยนความรู้ด้านการทำกังหันลมจากวัสดุท้องถิ่นให้แก่คนไทย

Videos

Energy 101: Wind Power Resource contains video
การ์ตูนอนิเมชันเกี่ยวกับกำลังลม
เรื่อง พลังงานลม Resource contains video
คลิปเกี่ยวกับ พลังงานลม กังหันลมผลิตไฟฟ้า และโรงไฟฟ้าพลังงานลม