All Items by Source

Books / Book Chapters

A History of Nursery Rhymes / Green, P. B. Some full text availableopenURL
Citation: Green, P. B. (1968). A History of Nursery Rhymes (2 ed.). Michigan: Singing Tree Press.
Open acess
 
Children's Literature Some full text availableopenURL
Citation: A Textbook of Sources for Teachers and Teacher-Training Classes
Edited by Erle Elsworth Clippinger, E. E. & Curry, C. M. Children's Literature. (1921). New York: Rand McNally & Company.
Open access
 
Current Topics in Children's Learning and Cognition Some full text availableopenURL
As a whole, the essays in this book address theoretical and empirical issues related to children's learning and cognition. The first essay, titled Learning in Cognitive Niches, treats the process of sense making on a theoretical level, discussing the complexity of factors that give rise to children's learning. It is followed by an essay, titled Using the Dynamics of a Person-Context System to Describe Children's Understanding of Air Pressure, that applies ideas from complexity science and dynamics-systems theory to children's learning about science. The next four essays summarize and synthesize already published findings, in an effort to go beyond individual viewpoints and present a more nuanced picture of children's sense making. In particular, two of these summaries, Preschoolers Learning Science: Myth or Reality? and The Emergence of Scientific Reasoning, focus on children's ability to make sense of their physical environment. The essay Cognition and the Child Witness: Understanding the Impact of Cognitive Development in Forensic Contexts seeks to shed light on children's sense making relevant to forensic issues. And the essay Beyond the Black-and-White of Autism: How Cognitive Performance Varies with Context ventures in the area of autism, a disorder that demonstrates atypical processes of combining pieces of information. The final two essays provide original data to add to the discussion of what factors affect cognitive functioning. In particular, the essay Cognitive Fitness in Young Adult Video Game Players seeks to re-assess the often-assumed relation between video gaming and various aspects of thinking, memory, intelligence, and visual-spatial abilities. And the essay Impact of Moving Away from Home on Undergraduate Metacognitive Development explicitly connects life circumstances to the ability to monitor and control one's thinking. Together, the collection of essays are a further step towards understanding the process of sense making as children and young adults interact with their environment.
Citation: Current Topics in Children's Learning and Cognition. (2012). H. Kolls, B. J. Morris, & J. L. Amaral (Eds.), InTech. doi:10.5772/1162
Database: INTECH Open Science
Open access
 
Drawings and Illustrations / Teubal, E. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
In the first years of their lives, most children enjoy drawing and are pleased with the results. Once they begin school the frequency of their drawing usually declines, and so does their sense of competence.
Citation: Teubal, E., & Guberman, A. (2014). Drawings and Illustrations. Graphic Texts (pp. 15-45): SensePublishers. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6209-710-0_2
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Emotional Narration of Children’s Stories / Alcantara, J. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Storytelling is both an entertaining and an educational tool for children. While Picture Books has shown the capability for a computer system to generate children’s stories, it lacks the storytelling capability needed in order to narrate the story to young beginning readers (age 4-6). Stories that are narrated with emotion can improve the experience of these young listeners. This paper presents the development of a synthesized voice narrator capable of expressing emotions while narrating the children’s stories generated by the Picture Books system. Test results showed that the children were able to recognize the generated sound clips that reflect the emotions happy and sad, but had difficulty recognizing the emotions reflecting anger, fear and surprise.
Citation: Alcantara, J., Lu, L., Magno, J., Soriano, Z., Ong, E., & Resurreccion, R. (2012). Emotional Narration of Children’s Stories. In S.-y. Nishizaki, M. Numao, J. Caro, & M. Suarez (Eds.), Theory and Practice of Computation (Vol. 5, pp. 1-14): Springer Japan. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-4-431-54106-6_1
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Extracting Conceptual Relations from Children’s Stories / Samson, B. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Automatic story generation systems require a collection of commonsense knowledge to generate stories that contain logical and coherent sequences of events appropriate for their intended audience. But manually building and populating a semantic ontology that contains relevant assertions is a tedious task. Crowdsourcing can be used as an approach to quickly amass a large collection of commonsense concepts but requires validation of the quality of the knowledge that has been contributed by the public. Another approach is through relation extraction. This paper discusses the use of GATE and custom extraction rules to automatically extract binary conceptual relations from children’s stories. Evaluation results show that the extractor achieved a very low overall accuracy of only 36% based on precision, recall and F-measure. The use of incomplete and generalized extraction patterns, insufficient text indicators, accuracy of existing tools, and inability to infer and detect implied relations were the major causes of the low accuracy scores.
Citation: Samson, B., & Ong, E. (2014). Extracting Conceptual Relations from Children’s Stories. In Y. Kim, B. Kang, & D. Richards (Eds.), Knowledge Management and Acquisition for Smart Systems and Services (Vol. 8863, pp. 195-208): Springer International Publishing. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-13332-4_16
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET toview content.
 
Once Upon a Time Restricted Resource Some full text available
In many different languages, storytellers around the world have uttered the words “once upon a time,” transporting listeners of all ages to magical lands, home to giants, witches, talking animals, and enchanted objects. The fairytales read by nineteenth-century American children are those we know today and are indebted to efforts to amuse the French aristocracy. In 1697, Charles Perrault (1628–1703) published Histoires ou Contes du temps passé. Avec des Moralités, a collection of eight captivating tales: Sleeping Beauty, Little Red Riding Hood, Blue Beard, Puss in Boots, Diamonds and Toads, Cinderella, and Hop o’My Thumb, along with one other that has not survived the test of time. Gaining immediate popularity among children and adults, the stories were translated into English in 1729 and soon were known in America.
Citation: Once Upon a Time. (2005) Once Upon a Time (pp. 69-105): Princeton Archit.Press. http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/1-56898-660-2_4
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
กระบวนการสร้างนิทานเพื่อการพัฒนาเด็กปฐมวัย / เรืองศักดิ์ ปิ่นประทีป และคณะ
Print Location: Education Library 372.42 ร863ก
Citation: เรืองศักดิ์ ปิ่นประทีป และทิพย์สุดา สุเมธเสนีย์. (2548). กระบวนการสร้างนิทานเพื่อการพัฒนาเด็กปฐมวัย (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 2). กรุงเทพฯ: สำนักงานเลขาธิการสภาการศึกษา.
ISBN: 9789745590511
 
การออกแบบและเขียนภาพประกอบสำหรับเด็ก / เกริก ยุ้นพันธ์
Print Location: Education Library 741.64 ก161ก
Citation: เกริก ยุ้นพันธ์. (2543). การออกแบบและเขียนภาพประกอบสำหรับเด็ก (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 2). กรุงเทพฯ: สุวิริยาสาส์น. 
ISBN: 9748267792
 
การเล่านิทาน / เกริก ยุ้นพันธ์
Print Location: Central Library 027.6251 ก763ก
Citation: เกริก ยุ้นพันธ์. (2539). การเล่านิทาน (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 2). กรุงเทพฯ: สุวิริยาสาส์น.
ISBN: 9748263576
 
ขั้นตอนการพัฒนาของเด็กปฐมวัยตั้งแต่ปฏิสนธิ - 5 ปี / นิตยา คชภักดี
Print Location: Central Library 649.123 น577ข
พัฒนาการของเด็ก: การเจริญเติบโตและพัฒนาการ; หลักการพัฒนาการของมนุษย์; ปัจจัยที่มีผลกระทบต่อการพัฒนาการของเด็ก -- ทฤษฎีพัฒนาการของพฤติกรรมมนุษย์: ทฤษฎีทางชีววิทยา; การพัฒนาวงจรประสาทด้านต่าง ๆ ในช่วงหน้าต่างของโอกาส; พัฒนาการด้านสติปัญญา; พัฒนาการด้านภาษาและการสื่อความหมาย; พัฒนาการด้านอารมณ์; พัฒนาการด้านสังคม; พัฒนาการด้านคุณธรรม หรือจิตวิญญาณ; แนวคิดเชิงเอกภาพ; แนวคิดเรื่องจุดปรับเปลี่ยนขั้นตอนของพัฒนาการ -- พัฒนาการตามวัยของเด็กและการประเมิน
Citation: นิตยา คชภักดี. (2543). ขั้นตอนการพัฒนาของเด็กปฐมวัยตั้งแต่ปฏิสนธิ - 5 ปี (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 1). กรุงเทพฯ: สถาบันแห่งชาติเพื่อการศึกษาสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย สำนักงานคณะกรรมการการศึกษาแห่งชาติ.
ISBN: 9748087662
 
เทคนิคการเขียน การเล่านิทานสำหรับเด็ก / วิไล มาศจรัส
Print Location: Central Library 808.543 ว724ท
นิทานคืออะไร -- ประเภทของนิทาน -- วัตถุประสงค์ของการเล่านิทาน -- เมื่อจะเขียนนิทาน -- เทคนิคการเขียนนิทาน -- องค์ประกอบของการเขียนนิทาน -- ตัวละครในนิทาน -- จินตนาการในการเขียนนิทาน -- 10 ขั้นการเขียนนิทาน -- จัดสรรเวลาสำหรับการเขียนนิทาน -- ตัวอย่างการเขียนนิทาน -- รูปแบบการเล่านิทาน -- เทคนิคการเล่านิทาน -- การเตรียมตัวเล่านิทาน -- เล่านิทานบูรณาการศิลปะ (การ์ตูน)
Citation: วิไล มาศจรัส. (2551). เทคนิคการเขียน การเล่านิทานสำหรับเด็ก (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 3). กรุงเทพฯ: ธารอักษร.
ISBN: 749080874
 
แนวการจัดทำหนังสือสำหรับเด็ก / จินตนา ใบกาซูยี
Print Location: Central Library 028.5 จ482น
Citation: จินตนา ใบกาซูยี. (2534). แนวการจัดทำหนังสือสำหรับเด็ก (พิมพ์ครั้งที่ 1). กรุงเทพฯ: สุวีริยาสาส์น.
 

Journals / Magazines

เทคนิคการเขียนหนังสือสำหรับเด็ก / จินตนา ใบกาซูยี
Print Location: Central Library จุลสาร 002966
องค์ประกอบหนังสือสำหรับเด็ก -- ความสนใจในการอ่านของเด็ก -- การวางแผนการเขียน -- การลงมือเขียนเรื่อง
Citation: จินตนา ใบกาซูยี. (2542). เทคนิคการเขียนหนังสือสำหรับเด็ก. (จุลสาร)
 

Articles

A fairy tale dictator: children's letters to the Duce / Bernasconi, P. Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the aspects of the formation of consensus under the Fascist state concerns the construction of the Fascist ?man?. This article takes up this notion and explores it in relation to children. The first part deal with the legislative process according to which Fascist rituals and myths were introduced into the school curriculum. The second part examines the letters that were sent to the Duce by children during the period of the regime. The majority of letters appear to have been dictated by elementary school teachers according to precise directives, but nonetheless there is some evidence of the spontaneous manifestation of the feelings of infants. The most significant aspect concerns the transfiguration of the Duce himself into a figure of fable in ways that could not but impact on the imagination of those who were born and raised between the 1920s and later 1930s.
Citation: Bernasconi, P. (2013). A fairy tale dictator: children's letters to the Duce. Modern Italy, 18(2), 129-140. doi: 10.1080/13532944.2013.780424
Database: Taylor & Francis
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
A fractured fable: The Three Little Pigs and using multiple paradigms / HUrt, A. C. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Paradigms aid organizational researchers in their quest to find the ‘truth’ of a particular event, phenomenon, activity, or topic and by providing them a framework with which to make assumptions about the nature of society and reality. According to Burrell and Morgan (1978), organizational researchers use one of four paradigms: functionalist, interpretivist, radical humanist, and radical structuralist. However, there is a growing body of research which postulates that multiple paradigms can be used to interpret organizational phenomenon (Lewis & Grimes, 1999). Nevertheless, truly understanding and applying these four primary paradigms is challenging, so before they can be used in an integrative manner , HRD scholars need to find a means to help professionals learn about and make sense of the concept of paradigms. We contend that a highly effective means of learning about complex phenomena are popular culture artifacts such as fables and fairy tales. Thus, this paper presents a fable of the aftermath of the Three Little Pigs fairy tale as a vehicle for presenting the concept of paradigms in an accessible way by relating the four paradigms as presented by Burrell and Morgan (1978) to each of the characters in the fable. The paper then concludes by offering suggestions for using multiple paradigms in sensemaking, teaching and learning, and organizational research.
Citation: Hurt, A. C., & Callahan, J. L. (2013). A fractured fable: The Three Little Pigs and using multiple paradigms. New Horizons in Adult Education and Human Resource Development, 25(3), 27-40. doi: 10.1002/nha3.20029
Database: Wiley Online Library
​​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Aesop and the humanist apologue / Marsh, D. Restricted Resource Some full text available
As Quattrocento humanists rediscovered Aesop in Greek, they were inspired to compose original Latin apologues. Leon Battista Alberti's Centum apologi (1437) spawned numerous imitations: Bartolomeo Scala's Apologi centum (1481) and Apologorum liber secundus (1488–92), Leonardo da Vinci's scattered favole ( c. 1485–95), Lorenzo Astemio's two Hecatomythia (1495, 1505), and Bernardino Baldi's 1582 Cento apologhi (first published in 1590). Alberti's apologues are couched as philosophical apothegms which tend to be more personal and less political than ancient Aesopic fables. Scala composes elaborate Latin apologues whose allegorical mythologizing arouses the admiration and emulation of Marsilio Ficino. In the marginalia to his notebooks, Leonardo writes Italian favole about plants and inanimate objects with notable borrowing from Alberti. In a more popular vein, Astemio creates two collections of Latin fables that blend Aesopic fable and novellistic facetia . And the Urbinate polymath Baldi creates a set of 100 Italian apologues inspired by Cosimo Bartoli's 1568 translation of Alberti. (pp. 9–26)
Citation: Marsh, D. (2003). Aesop and the humanist apologue. Renaissance Studies, 17(1), 9-26. doi: 10.1111/1477-4658.00002
Database: Wiley Online Library
​​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Bes, Aesop and Morgante: reflections of achondroplasia / Hecht, F. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The past perception of achondroplasia is reflected in art, beginning about 2000 B.C. Achondroplasia is thought to have provided a model for the representation of a series of figures including the Egyptian god Bes, the Greek teller of fables Aesop, and the Renaissance giant of fiction Morgante. Since these figures were basically viewed as good, the hypothesis is advanced that achondroplasia was perceived as a positive, not a negative, condition during at least part of the past four millenia.
Citation: Hecht, F. (1990). Bes, Aesop and Morgante: reflections of achondroplasia. Clinical Genetics, 37(4), 279-282. doi: 10.1111/j.1399-0004.1990.tb04190.x 
Database: Wiley Online Library
​​Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Blurred vision: the divergence and intersection of illustrations in children’s books / Zbaracki, M. D. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
In the evolving world of children’s literature, lines get blurred as formats and genres shift and adapt to the demands of readers and society as a whole. Nowhere is this more the case than in illustrations found within children’s literature. Illustrations, and visuals, play an integral role in children’s literature. In this article, the authors describe an emerging trend that comes from the convergence of picture books, comics and graphic novels. They identify this new genre as blended narrative, in which visual and textual media equally share the burden of storytelling. Specific titles from children’s literature are highlighted to showcase examples of blended narratives.
Citation: Zbaracki, M. D., & Geringer, J. (2014). Blurred vision: the divergence and intersection of illustrations in children’s books. Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics, 5(3), 284-296. doi: 10.1080/21504857.2014.916225 
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Children's Books: A Fond Farewell / Bedford, A. W. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Bedford, A. W. (2012). Children's Books: A Fond Farewell. Childhood Education, 88(4), 274-277. doi: 10.1080/00094056.2012.699868 
Database: Taylor & Francis
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Children's Literature and Early Literacy Success: Using the Charlotte Zolotow Award Collection in Early Childhood Teacher Education / Hassett, D. D. Restricted Resource
Early childhood education (PK?2) has become a site of increasing accountability, with the attempt to normalize instruction through ?scientifically based? reading programs. The use of authentic children's literature for early literacy instruction is often pushed aside in lieu of highly scripted commercial programs. As early childhood teacher educators prepare preservice teachers, there is a need to move beyond a one-size-fits-all approach. This article speaks to teacher educators who wish to provide preservice teachers with the theoretical rationale for keeping authentic children's literature as a focus of early reading programs. Drawing on early reading research and sociocultural theories of literacy development, the article provides examples of curriculum and instruction around picture-books that have received the Charlotte Zolotow Award, which is given to children's books with high-quality writing. The article offers numerous book suggestions for use in teacher education classes that demonstrate how language-rich, conceptually challenging children's literature is essential for early reading success.
Citation: Hassett, D. D. (2009). Children's Literature and Early Literacy Success: Using the Charlotte Zolotow Award Collection in Early Childhood Teacher Education. Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education, 30(4), 363-384. doi: 10.1080/10901020903320296
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Creating Animal Experience in Late Eighteenth-Century Narrative / Spencer, J. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Late eighteenth-century children's fiction with animal protagonists played a part in the period's rethinking of animal–human relations. Writers including Dorothy Kilner, Sarah Trimmer, Anna Letitia Barbauld, John Aikin and, most notably, Edward Augustus Kendall represented animal characters in new ways. A combination of influences from the philosophy of sympathy and from contemporary natural history shaped their enactment of a partial shift in animal representation from the fabular, the allegorical and the satirical to the naturalistic and empathetic. Drawing on new narrative techniques for the representation of mind in fiction, they pioneered attempts to imagine the experience of non-human animals.
Citation: Spencer, J. (2010). Creating Animal Experience in Late Eighteenth-Century Narrative. Journal for Eighteenth-Century Studies, 33(4), 469-486. doi: 10.1111/j.1754-0208.2010.00318.x 
Database: Wiley Online Library
​​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Crossing culture in children’s book publishing / Biamonte, C. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Children’s books are cultural products that face unique challenges when crossing cultural boundaries. Among these challenges are the translation into a new language, the cost of the translation both in terms of money and content, and the culture of the destination market. The main consumers of translations of children's books are currently developed countries such as France, Germany, and Italy. Less developed countries such as China and Korea, though, are experiencing a growth in their children's book markets. Although international boundaries are becoming less defined in today's market place and although there is an emphasis on multiculturalism within the United States, more children's books are licensed for translation in foreign markets than in the domestic American market. American publishers need to feel more secure in their ability to publish translations of children's books profitably. Only then will American children be able to have this important tool to help prepare them for a growing international environment.
Citation: Biamonte, C. (2002). Crossing culture in children’s book publishing. Publishing Research Quarterly, 18(3), 26-42. doi: 10.1007/s12109-002-0011-1 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Development of the Comprehension and Appreciation of Fables / Jose, P. E. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The authors proposed and tested a model of fable comprehension and appreciation. They proposed that fables are metaphoric in that they teach moral lessons about human activity, and that apprehension of the moral derives from a belief in a just world. In Study 1, children from kindergarten to 8th grade and college students received Aesop fables, reversed-outcome Aesop fables, and fable-like stories. As predicted, kindergartners and some 1st graders did not demonstrate a belief in a just world and did not differentiate between normal and reversed-outcome Aesop fables. Quality of morals provided by older participants was superior to that of younger participants. In Study 2, the quality of fable moral was found to be significantly correlated with quality of proverb and metaphor interpretation. Also, memory for goal or intention story elements was found to be related to quality of moral produced. Directions for future research are identified.
Citation: Jose, P. E., D'Anna, C. A., & Balsink Krieg, D. (2005). Development of the Comprehension and Appreciation of Fables. Genetic, Social, and General Psychology Monographs, 131(1), 5-37. doi: 10.3200/MONO.131.1.5-37
Database: Taylor & Francis
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Discovering the United States through Children's Folk Literature / Perez-Stable, M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Perez-Stable, M. (2005). Discovering the United States through Children's Folk Literature. The Social Studies, 96(2), 86-92. doi: 10.3200/TSSS.96.2.86-92 
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Families’ Selection of Children’s Literature Books / Saracho, O. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This study examined families’ choices of children’s literature books for joint story reading. Teachers, parents, and their children from five kindergarten classrooms participated in the study. Over a 4 months period, family members joined other parents twice a week to learn and practice story reading techniques. They selected children’s literature books that were of interest to both of them and their children and were developmentally appropriate. Family members were interviewed and responded to a questionnaire before the intervention. The results provided insight in relation to the parents’ perceptions about literacy, reading with families, and story reading. All members of the families read to their children frequently or daily and engaged the children in conversations about the books read. The books chosen to be read to the children were categorized by genre, with modern fiction being the most popular genre.
Citation: Saracho, O., & Spodek, B. (2010). Families’ Selection of Children’s Literature Books. Early Childhood Education Journal, 37(5), 401-409. doi: 10.1007/s10643-009-0365-5 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Fictions, Nation-building and Ideologies of Belonging in Children’s Literature: An Analysis of Tunzi the Faithful Shadow / Tagwirei, C. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This article demonstrates, through Michael Gascoigne’s Tunzi the Faithful Shadow (1988), that literature for children is sometimes employed by the government into the service of propagating dominant state ideologies in Zimbabwean schools. Such texts disseminate issues of inclusion and exclusion that characterise all nation building projects. I argue, through a reading of Tunzi the Faithful Shadow, that texts for children studied in Zimbabwean schools have been shaped by a distinctly Zimbabwean socio-historical context which includes, but is not limited to, the formation of a new national sensibility after the liberation war and the political unrest in the emerging nation.
Citation: Tagwirei, C. (2013). Fictions, Nation-building and Ideologies of Belonging in Children’s Literature: An Analysis of Tunzi the Faithful Shadow. Children's Literature in Education, 44(1), 44-56. doi: 10.1007/s10583-012-9178-z 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Formula fiction and children's literature: Thornton Waldo Burgess and Frances Hodgson Burnett / Bixler, P. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Bixler, P., & Agosta, L. (1984). Formula fiction and children's literature: Thornton Waldo Burgess and Frances Hodgson Burnett. Children's Literature in Education, 15(2), 63-71. doi: 10.1007/BF01151771 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

How Picture Books Work: A Semiotically Framed Theory of Text-Picture Relationships / Slipe, L. Restricted Resource Some full text available
In this article, I provide an overview of the various ways in which the relationship between the words and pictures in a picture book has been conceptualized; I draw on several theoretical traditions and disciplines to describe this relationship. Although theorists have advanced many different conceptualizations of the text-picture relationship, they have not adequately explained what goes on in our heads as we relate words and pictures. Therefore, in order to describe more precisely what happens internally as we relate verbal and visual signs, I present a theory of text-picture relations that is based on the semiotic concept of "transmediation." By way of making the theory more clear, it is applied to the text-picture relationship in one double-page spread of Where the Wild Things Are.
Citation: Sipe, L. (1998). How Picture Books Work: A Semiotically Framed Theory of Text-Picture Relationships. Children's Literature in Education, 29(2), 97-108. doi: 10.1023/A:1022459009182
Database: Springer Link
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Keys to Exploring Latino Cultures: Folktales for Children / Perez-Stable, M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Professor Perez-Stable gives readers a sample of the rich Hispanic folktales currently available for children. The folktales come in colorfully illustrated picture books, making them all the more enjoyable to read. Although the largest group of folktales falls into the category of creation and religious stories, all can be integrated into the social studies curriculum in one fashion or another. As delightful as these folktales, legends, fables, and myths may be, however, a real possibility of misusing this valuable resource exists.
Citation: Perez-Stable, M. (1997). Keys to Exploring Latino Cultures: Folktales for Children. The Social Studies, 88(1), 29-34. doi: 10.1080/00377999709603742
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Land and Identity Construction in Khadijah Hashim's The Wave of Life / Lazim, Z. M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
A person's sense of identity in Malaysia is often inextricably linked to ethnicity. To be Melayu is to be part of the majority voice, culture and society. However, who may be identified as Melayu and what it means to be Melayu has been contested for many decades. One such site for contestation is children's literature, which has a sociological function to inform, educate and inculcate values which it deems important in its readers. The myths, fables and stories we tell our children contribute to the moulding of their sense of identity and their place within the physical and social landscape that is Malaysia. In addition, how the landscape is depicted and the relationship that the characters in the story have with the land provide a personal, physical, social and psychological schema that places them within that society. This paper first compiles a list of Malay identity markers based on the Malaysian constitution, and identity markers proposed by Shamsul AB and S Husin Ali. This paper then looks at how land is depicted in Alun Hidup (1990)/The Wave of Life (1996) and the ways that it is linked to a person's sense of identity.The discourse of the novel posits a Malay identity and mindset that is based on land, religion and culture/community.
Citation: Lazim, Z. M. (2014). Land and Identity Construction in Khadijah Hashim's The Wave of Life. Procedia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, 118(0), 522-529. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2014.02.071
Database: ScienceDirect
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Louder than words: the didactic use of illustration in books for children / Whitaker, M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Whitaker, M. (1975). Louder than words: the didactic use of illustration in books for children. Children's Literature in Education, 6(1), 10-20. doi: 10.1007/BF01263056
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Lying in Children’s Fiction: Morality and the Imagination / Ringrose, C. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The telling of lies is significant in fiction written for children, and is often (though not in all cases) performed by child protagonists. Lying can be examined from at least three perspectives: philosophical, moral and aesthetic. The moral and the aesthetic are the most significant for children’s literature. Morality has been subtly dealt with in Anne Fine’s A Pack of Liars and Nina Bawden’s Humbug. The aesthetic dimension involves consideration of lying’s relation to imagination, fantasy and creativity; Richmal Crompton’s William: the Showman and Geraldine McCaughrean’s A Pack of Lies show this at a complex, metafictional, level.
Citation: Ringrose, C. (2006). Lying in Children’s Fiction: Morality and the Imagination. Children's Literature in Education, 37(3), 229-236. doi: 10.1007/s10583-006-9010-8 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Making stories mean; making meaning from stories: The value of literature for children / Stott, J. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Stott, J. (1994). Making stories mean; making meaning from stories: The value of literature for children. Children's Literature in Education, 25(4), 243-253. doi: 10.1007/BF02355304 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
Moles, Porcupines, and Children's Moral Reasoning: Unexpected responses / Darling, L. F. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This article concerns two classroom conversations about a moral dilemma presented in a fable. The conversations were studied as part of a larger research project on the moral understandings of young children. Two groups of primary-aged children (6 and 7 years old) in two different cultural settings discussed the conflict between a porcupine and a family of moles in ways that differed from other student discussions recorded by the author. In the first classroom discussion, students objected to the terms of the dilemma itself; in the second, students expressed concern for the character who is typically perceived by children as unsympathetic The two conversations raise questions for researchers and teachers about the relationship between individual and group deliberations about moral problems, and these lead to a broader discussion about the goals and means of moral education for young students.
Citation: Darling, L. F. (2002). Moles, Porcupines, and Children's Moral Reasoning: Unexpected responses. Early Years, 22(2), 91-103. doi: 10.1080/09575140220151440 
Database: Taylor & Francis
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Motives for Socialization, Sociability and other Positive Characteristics in Children's Stories / Celikl, M. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This paper focuses on the themes that we meet in children's literature and that are familiar to children, which support children's fantasy, their play, their needs for love and friendship. It is almost the same in children's literature created by writers who lived and still live in the Republic of Macedonia. We can also notice that folklore is the base that precedes the children's literature of Turkish community in Macedonia, hi this way, the opus of children's Turkish literature is known through folktales and anecdotes for Nastradin Hodja and other types of folk creation as fables and legends, which played significant role in the children's literature opus of the first post-war generation of Turkish writers in our country. We should emphasize that our main theme in this paper are the writers of the first post-war generation, about who we can say that they unfortunately stayed unique children's writers because the new generations of writers write about adults.
Citation: Celik, M., Dimova, V., & Ivanovska, B. (2012). Motives for Socialization, Sociability and other Positive Characteristics in Children's Stories. Procedia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, 46(0), 22-25. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2012.05.060 
Database: ScienceDirect
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Parent and child experiences of neuropsychological assessment as a function of child feedback by individualized fable / Tharinger, D. J. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This study evaluated whether receiving developmentally appropriate feedback in the form of individualized fables would affect how children and their parents reported experiencing a neuropsychological assessment. Participants were 32 children who underwent a neuropsychological assessment, along with one of their parents. The evaluation process, including the provision of parent feedback, was standard for the setting, a private practice of neuropsychology. The only addition was the provision of child feedback through a fable, given to the experimental group prior to the collection of research measures and to the comparison group after the collection of research data. Multivariate and univariate statistics were used to test differences between the two groups. Results indicated that children in the experimental group reported a greater sense of learning about themselves, a more positive relationship with their assessor, a greater sense of collaboration with the assessment process, and a sense that their parents learned more about them because of the assessment than did children in the comparison group. Parents in the experimental group reported a more positive relationship between their child and the assessor, a greater sense of collaboration with the assessment process, and higher satisfaction with clinic services compared to the comparison group. Limitations and implications for future research and assessment practice with children are discussed.
Citation: Tharinger, D. J., & Pilgrim, S. (2011). Parent and child experiences of neuropsychological assessment as a function of child feedback by individualized fable. Child Neuropsychology, 18(3), 228-241. doi: 10.1080/09297049.2011.595708
Database: Taylor & Francis
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Parental Role Portrayals in Twentieth Century Children’s Picture Books: More Egalitarian or Ongoing Stereotyping? / Dewitt, A. et al. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Gender role stereotyping continues to dominate within many media forms. This research examined the portrayals of mothers and fathers as companions, disciplinarians, caregivers, nurturers, and providers in 300 twentieth century children’s picture books randomly selected from the Children’s Catalog (H.W. Wilson Company, 2001). The books were published in the United States between the years of 1902 and 2000. The list of texts was stratified by time periods before sampling. The impact of time of publication upon each of the five parental role constructs was assessed using cross-tabulations. Previous analyses suggest traditional parental role portrayals are commonplace, but by employing time of publication as an independent variable, the researchers questioned whether an evolvement of roles would be noted. By examining the father and mother role performances independently over time it was expected that some progression toward egalitarianism would be noted. Overall, mothers did outperform fathers in nurturing and caregiving, and fathers outperformed mothers in companion and providing behaviors. However, when these behaviors were cross-tabulated with time of publication, no significant role evolvement was found. For example, while not statistically significant, father characters were most likely to nurture, provide care, and act as a child’s companion in books published in the 1970s, but these behaviors declined in subsequent time periods. The role evolvement of mother characters also lacked statistical significance, suggesting that the traditional male breadwinner-female homemaker model has been consistently portrayed in children’s picture books.
Citation: DeWitt, A., Cready, C., & Seward, R. (2013). Parental Role Portrayals in Twentieth Century Children’s Picture Books: More Egalitarian or Ongoing Stereotyping? Sex Roles, 69(1-2), 89-106. doi: 10.1007/s11199-013-0285-0 
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Propp's Functions Recognized in the Children's Perceptions of the Fairy Tales / Andonovska-Trajkovska, D. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Vladimir Propp is a Russian structuralist who explored the Russian folk tales in order to determine the characters who undertook the main roles specified in the fables of the tales. He derived 31 functions of the roles in the Russian tales that were later generalized with other folk tales originating from different parts of the world. The aim of this paper is to explore the pupil's perceptions of Propp's functions in tales without their being exposed to any teacher's impact in that field. The main question posed is whether the pupil's perceptions of the Propp's functions depend on pupils’ age and which Propp's functions are most frequently recognized by primary school pupils. 957 pupils of different age groups were included in the research sample. The results were drawn and compared among these different age groups on different tales previously read and discussed.
Citation: Andonovska-Trajkovska, D. (2012). Propp's Functions Recognized in the Children's Perceptions of the Fairy Tales. Procedia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, 46(0), 1695-1700. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.sbspro.2012.05.363 
Database: ScienceDirect
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Quentin Blake, The Children's Laureate: Selected Picture Books / Doonan, J. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Doonan, J. (2000). Quentin Blake, The Children's Laureate: Selected Picture Books. Children's Literature in Education, 31(2), 53-71. doi: 10.1023/A:1005114919363
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Reasoning as a Pedagogical Tool: Tolstoy’s Real Happening Stories for Children / Lushchevska, O. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Viewing Tolstoy’s works from psychological and intellectual perspectives demonstrates his approach to children’s literacy and especially the development of reasoning, which he presents in his writing for children and the stories he includes in his New ABC book (1875a) and four Readers (1875b). This article examines Tolstoy’s reasoning approach in education and its application in his real happening stories for children. Some of Tolstoy’s ideas about upbringing that are expressed in his stories are similar to ideas of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712–1778) and a Swiss developmental physiologist contemporary to Tolstoy, Jean Piaget (1896–1980). Tolstoy’s real happening stories treat situations that a child might actually experience; they propose and teach scenarios that might influence a child’s or an adult’s thinking about ways to obtain an education. Thus, in Tolstoy’s approach to children’s education, reasoning becomes a pedagogical tool, used to develop knowledge, experience and critical thinking ability.
Citation: Lushchevska, O. (2014). Reasoning as a Pedagogical Tool: Tolstoy’s Real Happening Stories for Children. Children's Literature in Education, 45(1), 60-73. doi: 10.1007/s10583-013-9206-7
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Researching Australian children’s literature / Saxby, M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Saxby, M. (2004). Researching Australian children’s literature. The Australian Library Journal, 53(1), 81-91. doi: 10.1080/00049670.2004.10721615 
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
ROUSSEAU AND THE FABLE: RETHINKING THE FABULOUS NATURE OF EDUCATIONAL PHILOSOPHY / Lewis, T. E. Restricted Resource Some full text available
In this essay Tyson Lewis reevaluates Jean-Jacques Rousseau's assessment of the pedagogical value of fables in Emile's education using Giorgio Agamben's theory of poetic production and Thomas Keenan's theory of the inherent ambiguity of the fable. From this perspective, the “unreadable” nature of the fable that Rousseau exposed is not simply the result of a child's innocence or developmental immaturity, but is rather a structural quality of the fable as such. Moving from a discussion of Rousseau's description of the fable and its relation to early childhood development, Lewis then telescopes outward into an analysis of Emile as a reenactment of the paradoxes of the fable. While Rousseau critiqued the pedagogical value of the fable, his own pedagogical project is informed by many of the qualities that he attributed to the fable. This return of the fable is enacted through Rousseau's writing on three interconnected levels: the question of the maxim, the paradox of truth, and the paradox of freedom. Lewis argues that if we take seriously the textually fabulous dimension of Emile, then the reader is left exposed to the very same anxieties as a child who is confronted with the ambiguity of the fable. In a concluding gesture, Lewis speculates about what Emile's fabulous dimension means for the practice of educational philosophy itself.
Citation: Lewis, T. E. (2012). ROUSSEAU AND THE FABLE: RETHINKING THE FABULOUS NATURE OF EDUCATIONAL PHILOSOPHY. Educational Theory, 62(3), 323-341. doi: 10.1111/j.1741-5446.2012.00449.x
Database: Wiley Online Library
​​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
The Art of Making Animals Laugh Benjamin Rabier’s Comic-Illustration of Les Fables de La Fontaine / Kuo, S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This article aims to explore book illustrations in the form of comic strips, and hence the nature of the format itself: how does it interpret the text, how does it narrate by itself and what is the significance of this “comic-illustration” in comparison to the traditional illustrations. The subject in question is the French artist Benjamin Rabier’s illustrations of Les Fables de La Fontaine produced in 1906. As the term suggest, Rabier’s “comic-illustration” stands between “comics” and “illustration”. Unlike the cartoons with dialogue bubbles, his comics are more like coherent images beyond the text. This does not lead to pure decorations, however, because the images “narrate” the visual attractions in a pictorial way. In respect of illustration, the issue lies in the role of Rabier’s work in the fable context. Deemed as an iconology in itself, the Fables contain a long list of illustrators. From the beginning of his illustration, Rabier displays an innovative viewpoint in his frontispiece by not showing any image of La Fontaine as most classical illustrators have done, but instead depicting a child narrating the stories to the characters. While the fable genre is considered as an art of making animals “talk”, Rabier is making them “laugh” in this child’s narration. Does this mean La Fontaine is interpreted as an easy and naïve reading, or is it a kind of sarcasm in disguise? The laughing animals therefore narrate another dimension in Rabier’s comic-illustration.
Citation: Kuo, S. (2013). The Art of Making Animals Laugh Benjamin Rabier’s Comic-Illustration of Les Fables de La Fontaine. Neophilologus, 97(1), 21-33. doi: 10.1007/s11061-012-9310-8
Database: SpringerLink
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

The Representation of Physically Active Girls in Children's Picture Books / Roper, E. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The findings indicated that the majority of the primary female characters were illustrated wearing appropriate athletic attire that would allow for physical movement. Although all of the primary female characters were depicted as excited about being physically active, 6 of the books described the movement of the primary female characters using action-oriented descriptors. The parents of the primary female characters were identified as the primary source of encouragement and peers were found to be the primary source of discouragement toward the primary female characters' physical activity or sport involvement. The physical abilities of the primary female characters were compared to male peers in 3 of the books. Although the 10 books studied provide young girls with imagery and text that encourage female physicality, it is apparent that more books are needed that focus on girls' involvement in sport and physical activity. Meaningful forms of literature that encourage physical activity and sport involvement for girls are needed.
Citation: Roper, E. A., & Clifton, A. M. (2013). The Representation of Physically Active Girls in Children's Picture Books. Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport, 84(2), 147-156. doi: 10.1080/02701367.2013.784844
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.

The True Story of Insy Winsy by A. Spider / Evans, J. Restricted Resource Some full text available
This paper investigates how the writing of some Year 6 children was influenced by exposure to the work of a contemporary author of children’s literature and through reading a variety of fairy stories, traditional tales, fables and nursery rhymes. Their growing awareness of the way in which story structures are constructed in particular genres resulted in some thought–provoking short stories which exhibited intertextual references linked to life experiences and to parts of other texts they had read.
Citation: Evans, J. (2002). “The True Story of Insy Winsy by A. Spider”. Reading, 36(2), 88-94. doi: 10.1111/1467-9345.00192
Database: Wiley Online Library
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.

Version control for tales and fables: Twice upon a time: a guide to fractured, altered and retold folk and fairy tales / Fisher, H. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Fisher, H. (2009). Version control for tales and fables: Twice upon a time: a guide to fractured, altered and retold folk and fairy tales. By Catharine Bomhold and Terri E. Elder. Children’s and Young Adult Literature Reference Series. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2008. ISBN9781591583905. The Australian Library Journal, 58(4), 421-422. doi: 10.1080/00049670.2009.10735933
Database: Taylor & Francis
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
ความสัมพันธ์เชิงอำนาจในหนังสือนิทานภาพสำหรับเด็กไทย / สรณี วงศ์เบี้ยสัจจ์
Print Location: Thailand Information Center 70993
เวทีวิจัยมนุษยศาสตร์ไทย ครั้งที่ 2: 2548 มหาวิทยาลัยเชียงใหม่
Citation: สรณี วงศ์เบี้ยสัจจ์. (2548). ความสัมพันธ์เชิงอำนาจในหนังสือนิทานภาพสำหรับเด็กไทย. กรุงเทพฯ: สำนักงานกองทุนสนับสนุนการวิจัย.
 
หนังสือสำหรับเด็ก สื่อเพื่อบูรณาการเรียนรู้ที่ครูมองข้าม / สมลักษณ์ ภาพันธ์ Some full text availableopenURL
Citation: สมลักษณ์ ภาพันธ์. (2547). หนังสือสำหรับเด็ก สื่อเพื่อบูรณาการเรียนรู้ที่ครูมองข้าม. วารสารวิชาการ, 7(1 มกราคม-มีนาคม 2547). 
 

Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Restricted Resource
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information of arts and humanities journals.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 
Binumi Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
ฐานข้อมูล multimedia ขนาดใหญ่ ประกอบด้วยวีดิโอคลิป ภาพนิ่ง และแทร็กเสียงกว่า 2 ล้านรายการ ครอบคลุมหลากหลายสาขาวิชา อาทิ วิทยาศาสตร์ เทคโนโลยี วิทยาศาสตร์ประยุกต์ ศิลปะ วัฒนธรรมและประวัติศาสตร์
Trial Database until April 12th, 2015
Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community since 1995. There are about 290 journals from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Fulltext Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full text is the collection of dissertations and theses. PQDT Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE Journals Online includes about 440 journals in subject area of humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 
ScienceDirect [Arts & Humanities Collection] Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and humanities. It delivers about 720 journals.
Please connect under CUNET to view content.

 

Theses / Dissertations

Caught between regulations and meaning: Fifth grade students and their teachers respond to multicultural children's literature / Montgomery, C. M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Montgomery, C. M. (2009). Caught between regulations and meaning: Fifth grade students and their teachers respond to multicultural children's literature. (3375869 Ph.D.), The Ohio State University, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Comparing the illustrations in authentic children's literature to the illustrations in Canadian elementary language arts anthologies / Leithead, M. R. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Leithead, M. R. (2004). Comparing the illustrations in authentic children's literature to the illustrations in Canadian elementary language arts anthologies. (NQ95899 Ed.D.), University of Alberta (Canada), Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Comparison of oral responses to different types of picture books in a preschool classroom / Robertson, T. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Robertson, T. (2008). Comparison of oral responses to different types of picture books in a preschool classroom. (3319099 Ed.D.), University of Massachusetts Lowell, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Dialogic reading with emotion-laden storybooks: Intervention methods to enhance children's emergent literacy and social-emotional skills / Mincic, M. S. Some full text available
Citation: Mincic, M. S. (2009). Dialogic reading with emotion-laden storybooks: Intervention methods to enhance children's emergent literacy and social-emotional skills. (3364575 Ph.D.), George Mason University, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Historical case study of women editors: Leadership in children's book publishing in America, 1900--1950 / Cody-Fuller, C. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Cody-Fuller, C. (2007). Historical case study of women editors: Leadership in children's book publishing in America, 1900--1950. (3273847 D.M.), University of Phoenix, Ann Arbor.
 
Once upon an encounter: A content analysis of selected children's literature portraying the encounter of Christopher Columbus and the Taino people / Sabis-Burns, D. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Sabis-Burns, D. (2009). Once upon an encounter: A content analysis of selected children's literature portraying the encounter of Christopher Columbus and the Taino people. (3401479 Ph.D.), University of Florida, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Raising cultural awareness of second grade African American students using Mexican American children's literature / Pugh, S. L. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Pugh, S. L. (2009). Raising cultural awareness of second grade African American students using Mexican American children's literature. (3385356 Ph.D.), The University of Alabama, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
The mirror theatre of reading: Explorations of the teacher's apprentice and juvenile historical fiction / Radford, L. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Radford, L. (2008). The mirror theatre of reading: Explorations of the teacher's apprentice and juvenile historical fiction. (NR50753 Ph.D.), University of Ottawa (Canada), Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
The portrayal of caring teachers in children's literature: A content analysis / Brady, J. E. P. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Brady, J. E. P. (2009). The portrayal of caring teachers in children's literature: A content analysis. (3382078 Ph.D.), Washington State University, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
Third grade African American boys respond to representations of race, class and gender in children's literature / Alberti, J. M. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citation: Alberti, J. M. (2010). Third grade African American boys respond to representations of race, class and gender in children's literature. (3421850 Ed.D.), University of Pennsylvania, Ann Arbor.
Database: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
​Please connect under CUNET to view content.
 
การพัฒนาความสามารถในการจับใจความของเด็กวัยอนุบาล โดยใช้เทคนิคการเล่านิทานแบบเล่าเรื่องซ้ำ / อลิสา เพ็ชรรัตน์
Print Location: Central Library : Thesis at Stack
Citation: อลิสา เพ็ชรรัตน์. (2539). การพัฒนาความสามารถในการจับใจความของเด็กวัยอนุบาล โดยใช้เทคนิคการเล่านิทานแบบเล่าเรื่องซ้ำ. ภาควิชาประถมศึกษา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.

การวิเคราะห์นิทานชาดกที่ส่งเสริมสันติธรรมสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย / มานิตา ลีโทชวลิต Restricted Resource Some full text available
วิเคราะห์นิทานชาดกที่ส่งเสริมสันติธรรมให้แก่เด็กปฐมวัย ในด้านการขจัดความขัดแย้ง โดยการแก้ปัญหาด้วยสันติวิธี และ การดำเนินชีวิตอยู่ร่วมกันอย่างสงบ โดยศึกษานิบาตชาดกที่เป็นอรรถกถา จำนวน 547 เรื่อง ซึ่งคณะกรรมการอำนวยการจัดงานฉลองสิริราชสมบัติ ครบ 50 ปี กองวรรณกรรมและประวัติศาสตร์ กรมศิลปากร 2540 ได้รวบรวมและเรียบเรียงเป็นนิทานร้อยแก้วแล้ว เกี่ยวกับเนื้อหาที่สอดคล้องกับสันติธรรม สำหรับเด็กปฐมวัยในนิทานชาดก โดยใช้เกณฑ์การวิเคราะห์สันติธรรมในนิทานชาดก และศึกษาวิธีการนำนิทานชาดกไปใช้ ในการส่งเสริมสันติธรรมให้แก่เด็กปฐมวัย โดยใช้ แบบสัมภาษณ์ และ แบบสังเกตพฤติกรรมการนำนิทานชาดกไปใช้ ผลการวิจัย 1.มีนิทานชาดกจำนวน 39 เรื่อง ที่มีเนื้อหาสอดคล้องกับสันติธรรมสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย โดยแบ่งเป็น 2 กลุ่ม คือ นิทานชาดกที่มีเนื้อหาสอดคล้องกับสันติธรรม ด้านการละเว้นความชั่ว จำนวน 20 เรื่อง และ ด้านการทำความดี จำนวน 19 เรื่อง 2 นิทานชาดกสามารถนำไปใช้ในการส่งเสริมสันติธรรมสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัยได้ แต่จำเป็นต้องปรับเปลี่ยนการใช้ภาษาให้สอดคล้องกับพัฒนาการทางด้านภาษา และวิธีการนำไปใช้ต้องสอดคล้องกับวิธีการเรียนรู้ของเด็กปฐมวัย ที่เรียนรู้ผ่านการกระทำ และ การเลียนแบบ ดังนั้ผู้นำนิทานชาดกไปใช้ส่งเสริมสันติธรรมให้แก่เด็กปฐมวัย จึงจำเป็นต้องปรับแต่งภาษาในนิทานให้ง่ายขึ้น และสร้างบรรยากาศในการนำไปใช้ที่สงบ มีสมาธิ และ ยังต้องพัฒนาตนให้เป็นตัวแบบที่ดีให้แก่เด็กอีกด้วย
Citation: มานิตา ลีโทชวลิต. (2544). การวิเคราะห์นิทานชาดกที่ส่งเสริมสันติธรรมสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย. สาขาวิชาการศึกษาปฐมวัย ภาควิชาประถมศึกษา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
Note: ประชาคมจุฬาฯ ดาวน์โหลดภายใต้เครือข่าย CUNET / บุคคลภายนอกดาวน์โหลดได้โดยการลงทะเบียนที่ CUIR
 
การออกแบบเลขนิเทศสำหรับนิทานเพื่อเด็กปฐมวัย / ศตพร วิวัฒรางกูล
Print Location: Architecture Library : Thesis 741.64 ศ117ก
Citation: ศตพร วิวัฒรางกูล. (2554). การออกแบบเลขนิเทศสำหรับนิทานเพื่อเด็กปฐมวัย. ภาควิชาการออกแบบอุตสาหกรรม จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
 
การเปรียบเทียบผลของการใช้ตัวแบบในนิทานประกอบภาพและนิทานประกอบหุ่นมือต่อการลดพฤติกรรมก้าวร้าวในเด็กวัยก่อนเข้าโรงเรียน / สิริลักษณ์ รัตนสุวัจน์
Print Location: Psychology Library : Thesis Psy 7/49
Citation: สิริลักษณ์ รัตนสุวัจน์. (2549). การเปรียบเทียบผลของการใช้ตัวแบบในนิทานประกอบภาพและนิทานประกอบหุ่นมือต่อการลดพฤติกรรมก้าวร้าวในเด็กวัยก่อนเข้าโรงเรียน. สาขาจิตวิทยาพัฒนาการ คณะจิตวิทยา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
 
การใช้ตัวแบบในนิทานประกอบภาพเพื่อเพิ่มพฤติกรรมปฏิสัมพันธ์ทางสังคมกับเพื่อนในเด็กอนุบาลที่มีปฏิสัมพันธ์ทางสังคมต่ำ / ชูพงศ์ ปัญจมะวัต
Print Location: Central Library : Thesis at Stack
ชูพงศ์ ปัญจมะวัต. (2534). การใช้ตัวแบบในนิทานประกอบภาพเพื่อเพิ่มพฤติกรรมปฏิสัมพันธ์ทางสังคมกับเพื่อนในเด็กอนุบาลที่มีปฏิสัมพันธ์ทางสังคมต่ำ. ภาควิชาจิตวิทยา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.

ผลของการส่งเสริมจริยธรรมทางสังคมตามแนวคอนสตรัคติวิสต์ของเด็กวัยอนุบาลโดยการใช้การอภิปรายเพื่อแก้สถานการณ์ที่มีข้อขัดแย้งทางจริยธรรมในนิทานที่มีสองแพร่ง / พิชญ์ ขำมา Restricted Resource Some full text available
การวิจัยครั้งนี้มีวัตถุประสงค์ เพื่อศึกษาผลของการส่งเสริมจริยธรรมทางสังคมของเด็กวัยอนุบาลด้านกลวิธีการเจรจาเพื่อหาข้อตกลงร่วมกัน ด้านการแลกเปลี่ยนประสบการณ์ร่วมกัน และด้านความสัมพันธ์ระหว่างเด็กกับเพื่อนตามแนวคอนสตรัคติวิสต์ โดยการใช้การอภิปรายเพื่อแก้สถานการณ์ที่มีข้อขัดแย้งทางจริยธรรมในนิทานที่มีทางสองแพร่ง กลุ่มตัวอย่างในการวิจัย คือ เด็กวัยอนุบาลชั้นปีที่ 2 อายุ 5-6 ปี จำนวน 32 คน แบ่งออกเป็นกลุ่มทดลอง 16 คน กลุ่มควบคุม 16 คน เครื่องมือที่ใช้ในการวิจัยในครั้งนี้ คือ 1. เครื่องมือที่ใช้ในการสังเกตพฤติกรรมทางสังคมของเด็กวัยอนุบาล ประกอบด้วย สถานการณ์ในการทดสอบจริยธรรมทางสังคม 2 สถานการณ์คือสถานการณ์การเล่นเกมบันไดงู กับสถานการณ์การแบ่งรูปภาพ รหัสและคู่มือการลงรหัสจริยธรรมทางสังคม แบบบันทึกพฤติกรรม และแบบบันทึกผลคะแนน 2. เครื่องมือที่ใช้ในการสังเกตพฤติกรรมทางสังคมด้านความสัมพันธ์ระหว่างเด็กกับเพื่อน ประกอบด้วย แบบสังเกตและบันทึกพฤติกรรม ผลการวิจัยพบว่า 1. หลังการทดลอง กลุ่มทดลองมีคะแนนจริยธรรมทางสังคมด้านกลวิธีการเจรจาเพื่อหาข้อตกลงร่วมกันระดับ 2 สูงกว่ากลุ่มควบคุม อย่างมีนัยสำคัญทางสถิติที่ระดับ .01 2. หลังการทดลอง กลุ่มทดลองมีคะแนนจริยธรรมทางสังคมด้านการแลกเปลี่ยนประสบการณ์ร่วมกันระดับ 2 สูงกว่ากลุ่มควบคุม อย่างมีนัยสำคัญทางสถิติที่ระดับ .01 3. หลังการทดลอง กลุ่มทดลองมีคะแนนจริยธรรมทางสังคมด้านความสัมพันธ์ระหว่างเด็กกับเพื่อน สูงกว่ากลุ่มควบคุม อย่างมีนัยสำคัญทางสถิติที่ระดับ .05
Citation: พิชญ์ ขำมา. (2543). ผลของการส่งเสริมจริยธรรมทางสังคมตามแนวคอนสตรัคติวิสต์ของเด็กวัยอนุบาลโดยการใช้การอภิปรายเพื่อแก้สถานการณ์ที่มีข้อขัดแย้งทางจริยธรรมในนิทานที่มีสองแพร่ง. สาขาวิชาการศึกษาปฐมวัย ภาควิชาประถมศึกษา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
Note: ประชาคมจุฬาฯ ดาวน์โหลดภายใต้เครือข่าย CUNET / บุคคลภายนอกดาวน์โหลดได้โดยการลงทะเบียนที่ CUIR
ผลของการใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบไม่จบเรื่องที่มีต่อพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมของเด็กวัยอนุบาล / นิศารัตน์ อิสระมโนรส Restricted Resource Some full text available
ศึกษาผลของการใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบไม่จบเรื่อง ที่มีต่อพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมของเด็กวัยอนุบาล 3 ด้าน ได้แก่ พฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมด้านความซื่อสัตย์ พฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมด้านความรับผิดชอบ และพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมด้านความเอื้อเฟื้อเผื่อแผ่ กลุ่มตัวอย่างที่ใช้ในการวิจัยครั้งนี้คือ เด็กวัยอนุบาลที่กำลังศึกษาอยู่ในระดับชั้นอนุบาลปีที่ 1 จำนวน 61 คน ของโรงเรียนทีปังกรณ์วิทยาพัฒน์ (วัดโบสถ์) ในพระราชูปถัมภ์ฯ แบ่งเป็นกลุ่มทดลองจำนวน 30 คน และกลุ่มควบคุมจำนวน 31 คน กลุ่มทดลองใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบไม่จบเรื่อง ส่วนกลุ่มควบคุมใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบปกติ ใช้ระยะเวลาที่ใช้ในการทดลอง 12 สัปดาห์ เครื่องมือที่ใช้ในการวิจัย ได้แก่ แบบสังเกตพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมของเด็กวัยอนุบาล วิเคราะห์ข้อมูลโดยการหาค่าเฉลี่ย ส่วนเบี่ยงเบนมาตรฐาน และการทดสอบค่าที ผลการวิจัยพบว่า หลังการทดลอง เด็กที่ได้รับการใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบไม่จบเรื่อง มีค่าเฉลี่ยของคะแนนพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมสูงกว่า เด็กที่ได้รับการจัดกิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบปกติ อย่างมีนัยสำคัญทางสถิติที่ระดับ .05.
Citation: นิศารัตน์ อิสระมโนรส. (2552). ผลของการใช้กิจกรรมการเล่านิทานแบบไม่จบเรื่องที่มีต่อพฤติกรรมทางจริยธรรมของเด็กวัยอนุบาล. สาขาวิชาการศึกษาปฐมวัย ภาควิชาหลักสูตร การสอนและเทคโนโลยีการศึกษา จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
Note: ประชาคมจุฬาฯ ดาวน์โหลดภายใต้เครือข่าย CUNET / บุคคลภายนอกดาวน์โหลดได้โดยการลงทะเบียนที่ CUIR
 
โครงการการออกแบบเลขนิเทศสื่อเว็บไซต์สร้างนิทานเพื่อสนับสนุนการเรียนรู้ในเด็กประถมต้น / ดนพร จรัสแสงสกุล
Print Location: Architecture Library : Thesis 741.6 ด121ค
Citation: ดนพร จรัสแสงสกุล. (2553). โครงการการออกแบบเลขนิเทศสื่อเว็บไซต์สร้างนิทานเพื่อสนับสนุนการเรียนรู้ในเด็กประถมต้น. ภาควิชาการออกแบบอุตสาหกรรม จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย, กรุงเทพฯ.
 

Special Projects

การใช้กระดาษเป็นภาพประกอบนิทานสุขบัญญัติเพื่อการศึกษาสำหรับเด็ก / สุทธิพันธ์ คุ้มสม
Print Location: Fine & Applied Arts Library : Reverve Collection RES ส44ก 2532
Citation: สุทธิพันธ์ คุ้มสม. (2532). การใช้กระดาษเป็นภาพประกอบนิทานสุขบัญญัติเพื่อการศึกษาสำหรับเด็ก. กรุงเทพฯ: คณะศิลปกรรมศาสตร์ จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย.
 
นิทานภาพคู่หลักสูตรชั้นเด็กเล็ก เขตการศึกษา 2
Print Location: Education Library 372.4147 ส21น
Citation: หน่วยศึกษานิเทศก์, กรมสามัญศึกษา. (2523). นิทานภาพคู่หลักสูตรชั้นเด็กเล็ก เขตการศึกษา 2. ยะลา: หน่วยศึกษานิเทศก์ กรมสามัญศึกษา.
 
นิทานสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย / สัณหพัฒน์ อรุณธารี
Print Location: Education Library 398.4 ส114น
โครงการตำราวิชาการราชภัฏเฉลิมพระเกียรติเนื่องในวโรกาสพระบาทสมเด็จพระเจ้าอยู่หัวทรงเจริญพระชนมายุครบ 6 รอบ
​Citation: สัณหพัฒน์ อรุณธารี. (2542). นิทานสำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย. กรุงเทพฯ: คณะครุศาสตร์ จุฬาฯ.
 
หนังสือนิทานภาพสำหรับเด็กของไทยที่ได้รับรางวัล: การวิเคราะห์เชิงวรรณกรรมและวาทกรรม / สรณี วงศ์เบี้ยสัจจ์ และคณะ
Print Location: Central Library 028.162 ส324ห
Citation: สรณี วงศ์เบี้ยสัจจ์, หัทยา จันทรมังกร, และศตนันต์ เปียงบุญทา. (2547). หนังสือนิทานภาพสำหรับเด็กของไทยที่ได้รับรางวัล: การวิเคราะห์เชิงวรรณกรรมและวาทกรรม : รายงานการวิจัย. เชียงใหม่: ภาควิชาภาษาอังกฤษ คณะมนุษยศาสตร์ มหาวิทยาลัยเชียงใหม่.
 

Senior Projects

นิทานสอนเด็ก เรื่อง กระต่ายกับเต่า ลูกหมูสามตัว และเด็กเลี้ยงแกะ / พุฒิณัฐ จิตรธรรม และคณะ
Print Location: Science Library : Project PJ.2555/6429
โครงการการเรียนการสอนเพื่อเสริมประสบการณ์ ปี 2555
Citation: พุฒิณัฐ จิตรธรรม และมณฑวรรณ ช่อชมเกษม. (2555). นิทานสอนเด็ก เรื่อง กระต่ายกับเต่า ลูกหมูสามตัว และเด็กเลี้ยงแกะ. กรุงเทพฯ: ภาควิชาคณิตศาสตร์ คณะวิทยาศาสตร์ จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย.
 
โครงการการออกแบบหนังสือนิทานเด็ก เรื่อง น้ำใจของตุ๋ยตุ่ย / ดรุณี อุ่นรัตนะ
Print Location: Education Library 023/2536 ด174ห ศป
Citation: ดรุณี อุ่นรัตนะ. (2536). โครงการการออกแบบหนังสือนิทานเด็ก เรื่อง น้ำใจของตุ๋ยตุ่ย. กรุงเทพฯ: ภาควิชาศิลปศึกษา คณะครุศาสตร์ จุฬาฯ.


Encyclopedias

สารานุกรมแนะนำหนังสือดี 100 ชื่อเรื่องที่เด็กและเยาวชนไทยควรอ่าน / วิทยากร เชียงกูร และคณะ
Print Location: Central Library 011.73 สน678 2544
Citation: วิทยากร เชียงกูล และคณะ. (2544). สารานุกรมแนะนำหนังสือดี 100 ชื่อเรื่องที่เด็กและเยาวชนไทยควรอ่าน. กรุงเทพฯ: สายธาร.

Organizations

Researcher / Faculty / Person as Information Source

ดร. อรชา ตุลานันท์
หลักสูตรการสอนและเทคโนโลยีการศึกษา สาขาวิชาการศึกษาปฐมวัย คณะครุศาสตร์
จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
 
รศ. ถิรนันท์ อนวัชศิริวงศ์
ภาควิชาวาทวิทยาและสื่อสารการแสดง คณะนิเทศศาสตร์
จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
โทร. 0 2218 2186
 

Web Sites / Web Pages

Aesop's Fables Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Online collection of Aesop's Fables includes a total of 655+ Fables, indexed in table format, with morals listed. There are many more on the way. Most were translated into English by Rev. George Fyler Townsend (1814-1900) and Ambrose Bierce (1842-1914) the rest are from Jean De La Fontaine in French and translated to English by several good internet souls. Included are Real Audio narrations, Classic Images, Random Images, Random Fables, Search Engine and much more on the way. Recently added are 127 Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen.
 
All About Fable openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
ออกเดินทางไปผจญภัยในโลกนิทานกับเรากันเถอะ!
Children's Storybooks Online Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Illustrated children's stories for kids of all ages

Free Kids Books Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Free Kids Books is a growing library of unique children’s books and literary resources available for download in a user friendly pdf format.
 
หนังสือคัดสรร: 108 หนังสือดีฯ ที่แบ่งตามช่วงวัย: แผนงานสร้างเสริมวัฒนธรรมการอ่าน สสส. openURL
Citation: ถิรนันท์ อนวัชศิริวงศ์, & พิรุณ อนวัชศิริวงศ์. หนังสือคัดสรร: 108 หนังสือดีฯ ที่แบ่งตามช่วงวัย.


หนังสือดี 100 ชื่อเรื่องที่เด็กและเยาวชนไทยควรอ่าน openURL
สำนักกองทุนสนับสนุนการวิจัย (สกว.)
 
About
Fables & Picture Books

เป็นคู่มือแนะนำทรัพยากรและแหล่งสืบค้นสารสนเทศ ทั้งของไทยและต่างประเทศ เพื่อสนับสนุนการทำงานของคณาจารย์ นักวิจัย นิสิตนักศึกษา นักสร้างสรรค์ ฯลฯ

ครอบคลุมหัวเรื่อง อาทิ
- กระบวนการออกแบบสร้างสรรค์หนังสือนิทาน นิทานภาพ สำหรับเด็กปฐมวัย
- การเล่านิทานเพื่อสื่อสารกับเด็กปฐมวัย
- โลกทัศน์ของนิทานในบริบทวัฒนธรรม
- พัฒนาการการรับรู้ เรียนรู้ และจิตวิทยา ของเด็กปฐมวัย
- การสื่อสารความหมายด้วยทัศนศิลป์
- ฯลฯ

จัดทำโดย:
วัชรี เกวลกุล

รับหน้าที่ดูแลเนื้อหาต่อโดย:
ระเบียบ แสงจันทร์
Library Catalog
คอลเลคชั่นผลงานวรรณกรรมเด็ก นิทาน นิทานภาพ มีบริการที่ "Juvenile Collection" 
- Central Library
- Education Library
- Arts Library
Subject Specialist
Picture: Vatcharee Kevalakul

Vatcharee Kevalakul
Former Information Specialist
Tel: -

Picture: Rabiab Sangchantr

Rabiab Sangchantr
Librarian
Tel: 022182936