History of Modern Japan
ประวัติศาสตร์ญี่ปุ่นสมัยใหม่ (History of Modern Japan)
 ครอบคลุมเนื้อหา

       การปรับปรุงประเทศสมัยเมจิ ความเจริญเติบโตทางเศรษฐกิจและการเปลี่ยนแปลงทางสังคมที่ทำให้ญี่ปุ่นมีบทบาทในการเมืองระหว่างประเทศและในภาคพื้นเอเชียตะวันออกจนถึงสงครามโลกครั้งที่ 1 ความขัดแย้งภายใน ความผันผวนทางการเมือง การขึ้นสู่อำนาจของทหาร ลัทธิทางทหารและการเข้าสู่สงครามโลกครั้งที่ 2 ญี่ปุ่นภายใต้การยึดครองของสหรัฐอเมริกา การฟื้นฟูประเทศภายหลังสงคราม การเปลี่ยนแปลงระบบการเมืองของญี่ปุ่น ความก้าวหน้าทางวิทยาศาสตร์และเทคโนโลยี และบทบาทของญี่ปุ่นในโลกปัจจุบัน

แหล่งอ้างอิง
หลักสูตรระดับปริญญาตรี สาขาวิชาประวัติศาสตร์ มหาวิทยาลัยศิลปากร. ค้นเมื่อ 11/3/58 จาก
http://www.arts.su.ac.th/course/bachelor/course54/history.pdf
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Saralee Songjumroen

Saralee Songjumroen
Librarian
Tel: 022182922

All Items by Source

Books / Book Chapters

A companion to Japanese history / edited by William M. Tsutsui
Print Location: Central Library : Thailand Information Center - 5394 Some full text available
ISBN : 9781405116909
Year : 2007 

          Content : Japanese Beginnings -- The Heian Period -- Medieval Japan -- Unification, Consolidation, and Tokugawa Rule -- Social and Economic Change in Tokugawa Japan -- Intellectual Change in Tokugawa Japan -- Cultural Developments in Tokugawa Japan -- Restoration and Revolution -- Social and Economic Change in Prewar Japan -- The Japanese Empire -- The Postwar Japanese Economy -- Women and Sexuality in Premodern Japan  -- Class and Social Stratification -- Rural Japan and Agriculture -- National Identity and Nationalism
 
A Modern history of Japan : from Tokugawa times to the present / Andrew Gordon
Print Location: Political Science Library - 952 G662M Some full text available
ISBN  : 0195110617
Year   : 2003
           Content : Crisis of the Tokugawa Regime -- Modern Revolution, 1868-1905 -- Imperial Japan From Ascendance to Ashes -- Postwar and Contemporary Japan, 1952-2000
 
Modern Japan : a history in documents / James L. Huffman
Print Location: Central Library - 952.025 H889M Some full text available
ISBN : 0195147421
Year  : 2004
           Content : Shogun's realm -- Old order topples: 1853-1868 -- Confronting the modern world : 1868-1889 -- Turning outward: 1890-1912 -- Imperial democracy: 1912-1930 -- Dark era: 1930-1945 -- Reemergence : 1945-1970 -- Japan as a world power: After 1970 -- Timeline
 
Modern Japan [electronic resource] : a social and political history / Elise K. Tipton
Print Location: Political Science Library - 952.03 T595M 2008 Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
ISBN  : 9780415418713 (Print)
             0585453225 (electronic bk.)
Year   : 2008 (Print)
             2002 (electronic bk.)
             Content : Tokugawa background : the ideal and the real -- The mid-century crisis -- The early Meiji Revolution -- The 1880s and 1890s : defining a Japanese national identity -- Late Meiji : an end and a beginning -- An emerging mass society : demands for equity and the dilemmas of choice -- Contesting the modern in the 1930s -- The dark valley -- "Enduring the unendurable" and starting over in the "new" Japan -- Conflict and consensus in the 1950s -- The "economic miracle" -- and its underside -- The "rich country" -- The "lost decade" -- Whither Japan?

 
Japan : a modern history / James L. McClain
Print Location: Arts Library - DS881.9 M126J Some full text available
ISBN : 0393041565
Year  : 2002
        This text conveys the turbulent political, economic and social change that over four centuries positioned Japan as a modern world power. This narrative examines the impact of towering figures such as Leyasu, the architect of the Tokugawa state, and the experiences of everyday Japanese - farmers, soldiers and women - whose struggles built a strong and prosperous nation. The work traces the advances and reversals marking Japan's path from a land ruled by lords and a warrior class to a modern parliamentary democracy, and from a small isolationist nation to a political and economic giant. This history text is also seasoned with Japanese culture throughout - the woodblock prints of Hiroshige and Hokusai, the exquisite haiku of Basho, the beauties of noh drama, the novels of Oe Kenzaburo and the films of Ozo.
 
ประวัติศาสตร์ญี่ปุ่นสมัยใหม่ / สุรางค์ศรี ตันเสียงสม
Print Location: Central Library (Chula Colloction) - อช 15 014086 Restricted Resource Some full text available
ISBN : 9789740323075
Year  : 2551 (2008)
            Contentญี่ปุ่นก่อนสมัยใหม่ ; สมัยโทะกุงะวะ ; สมัยเก็นโระกุ -- มรดกการปรับปรุงประเทศในสมัยเมจิ -- ญี่ปุ่นกับสงครามโลกครั้งที่สอง -- ญี่ปุ่นหลังสงครามโลกครั้งที่สอง -- ญี่ปุ่นกับความเป็นมหาอำนาจทางเศรษฐกิจ -- การเปลี่ยนแปลงและความไม่แน่นอน
 
ญี่ปุ่นสมัยใหม่ : ความรู้ฉบับพกพา / คริสโตเฟอร์ โกโต-โจนส์ ; พลอยแสง เอกญาติ, แปล
Print Location: Central Library - 952 ก931ญ Some full text available
ISBN : 9786169070733
Year  : 2554 (2011)
           Content : ญี่ปุ่นสมัยใหม่นั้นใหม่อย่างไร -- การเผชิญหน้ากับโลกสมัยใหม่ของญี่ปุ่น -- การปฏิรูปโดยสถาบันกษัตริย์: การเปิดรับความทันสมัย -- การก้าวข้ามและการถูกครอบงำโดยความเป็นสมัยใหม่: ญี่ปุ่นในสงคราม -- ปาฏิหาริย์ทางเศรษฐกิจและการสร้างสังคมยุคหลังสมัยใหม่ -- ข้ามผ่านการปฏิเสธ: ภารกิจสู่ปกติวิสัยของญี่ปุ่นร่วมสมัย -- ญี่ปุ่นในศตวรรษที่ 21
 
ประวัติศาสตร์ญี่ปุ่น / วีระชัย โชคมุกดา
Print Location: Central Library - 952 ว844ป Some full text available
ISBN : 9786167071442
Year  : 2554      
          Content
: จุดเริ่มต้น เพราะแผ่นดินของเขาลอยอยู่กลางทะเล -- ศตวรรษที่ 4 กำหนดชาติญี่ปุ่น -- ศตวรรษที่ 8 เทพนิยายเรื่องการสร้างโลกสุริยเทวีและโคตรวงศ์ของจักรพรรดิ -- ศตวรรษที่ 6-8 การมาถึงของพุทธศาสนากับการปฏิรูปไทกะ -- ศตวรรษที่ 9 ฟูจิวาระ จุดกำเนิดศักดินาสวามิภักดิ์ -- ศตวรรษที่ 13-15 ญี่ปุ่นสมัยกลาง ศตวรรษแห่งนักรบ และไดเมียว -- นิกายเซน ดาบซามูไร และละครโนะ -- ค.ศ. 1560-1616 ตำนาน 3 วีรบุรุษสร้างชาติ -- ค.ศ. 1600-1868 ยุคเอโดะแห่งโตกุกาวะ -- ศตวรรษที่ 19 วาระสุดท้ายของโตกุกาวะ -- ศตวรรษที่ 19-20 การปฏิรูปเมจิ และญี่ปุ่นใหม่ -- ญี่ปุ่นหลังสงครามโลกครั้งที่ 2 -- บทสรุป เพราะผู้คนเขามุ่งมั่นและเข้มแข็ง -- ภาคผนวก : โจรสลัด พ่อค้าและโรนิน ; ไทย-ญี่ปุ่น มิตรภาพแห่งทะเลตะวันออก

 
ประวัติศาสตร์ญี่ปุ่นสมัยใหม่ : จากปลายสมัยโทกุงาวะถึงการสิ้นสุดจักรวรรดินิยมญี่ปุ่น / ศิริพร ดาบเพชร
Print Location: Central Library - 952 ศ463ป Some full text available
Year : 2556    
ภาควิชาประวัติศาสตร์ คณะสังคมศาสตร์ มหาวิทยาลัยศรีนครินทรวิโรฒ
          Content 
: ญี่ปุ่นสมัยโทกุงาวะ: การเปิดประเทศและการสิ้นสุดระบบโชกุน -- การเปลี่ยนแปลงของญี่ปุ่นสมัยเมจิ (ค.ศ. 1868-1912) -- การสร้างจักรวรรดิญี่ปุ่น -- ญี่ปุ่นหลังสงครามโลกครั้งที่ 1: พัฒนาการและปัญหาการเมือง เศรษฐกิจ -- การเข้าสู่ลัทธิทหารนิยมในทศวรรษ 1930 และการสิ้นสุดจักรวรรดินิยมญี่ปุนใน ค.ศ. 1945
 
บ่อเกิดลัทธิประเพณีญี่ปุ่น / ธีโอเดอร์ เดอ บารี ; [แปลโดย], จำนงค์ ทองประเสริฐ
Print Location: Central Library - 952 ด57บ 2545-46 Some full text available
ISBN : 9747330261 (ล.1)
           9749588037 (ล.2)
Year  : 2545-2546
            Content : ภ.1: ประเทศญี่ปุ่นสมัยโบราณ -- ภ.2: ยุคเฮอิอัน -- ภ.3: ญี่ปุ่นสมัยกลาง -- ภ.4: ยุคโตกุงาวะ -- ภ.5 ประเทศญี่ปุ่นกับตะวันตก -- ภาคผนวก 1: ลำดับศักราชหรือรัชสมัยสมเด็จพระจักรพรรดิญี่ปุ่น -- ภาคผนวก 2: ลำดับ พ.ศ. / ค.ศ. ในศักราชญี่ปุ่น

Journals / Magazines

Japanese Studies Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Publisher    : Japanese Studies Association of Australia
Language   :  English
Frequency  :  3 issues / year
ISSN            :  1037-1397  (print)
                        1469-9338 (Online)       
              It is published three times annually, in May, September, and December, and is a fully refereed journal, with an international editorial board and readership. This interdisciplinary journal publishes high-quality, scholarly articles on various aspects of Japan, as well as book and film reviews. In addition to general non-thematic editions, the journal regularly publishes guest-edited thematic issues on such themes as postwar politics, environmental issues, literature, citizenship, the legal system.
 
Journal of Asian Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Publisher    Association for Asian Studies
published for the AAS by Cambridge University Press
Frequency  : 4 Issue(s) per year  
ISSN            : 0021-9118 (print)
                      17520401  (Online)
Impact Factor (2013) : 0.742     
            The Journal of Asian Studies (JAS) has played a defining role in the field of Asian studies for over 65 years. JAS publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. Experts around the world turn to this quarterly journal for the latest in-depth scholarship on Asia's past and present, for its extensive book reviews, and for its state-of-the-field essays on established and emerging topics. With coverage reaching from South and Southeast Asia to China, Inner Asia, and Northeast Asia, JAS welcomes broad comparative and transnational studies as well as essays emanating from fine-grained historical, cultural, political, or literary research and interpretation. The journal also publishes clusters of papers representing new and vibrant discussions on specific themes and issues.
 
Journals of Japanese Studies Some full text available
Publisher    : Society for Japanese Studies and Housed at the University of Washington
E- ISSN       : 1549-4721
Print ISSN  : 0095-6848
Language   :  English
Frequency  : 2 issues / Year       
            The Journal of Japanese Studies
 is the most influential journal dealing with research on Japan available in the English language. Since 1974, it has published the results of scholarly research on Japan in a wide variety of social science and humanities disciplines, as well as translations of articles from Japanese and substantive book reviews.

 
Electronic journal of contemporary Japanese studies Some full text available
      The Electronic journal of contemporary Japanese studies (ejcjs) is an international peer reviewed journal in the Social Sciences and Humanities that publishes academic research and scholarly writing on all issues related to contemporary Japanese society, economy, politics, literature, theatre, cinema, and culture.
      ejcjs is an international academic journal in the Social Sciences and Humanities that publishes research and scholarly writing on all issues related to contemporary Japan. The journal adopts a multi-disciplinary stance in the hope that it will contribute to a deeper understanding of Japan and Japanese people and that it will, consequently, enrich our understanding of the totality of human experience. We encourage submissions in all areas of academic endeavour that have contemporary Japan as their focus but that also relate Japan to broader developments elsewhere. Contributions are posted as and when we receive, review, and edit them.


 
วารสารญี่ปุ่นศึกษา Some full text available
Publisher  : สถาบันเอเชียตะวันออกศึกษา มหาวิทยาลัยธรรมศาสตร์ 
ISSN          : 0125-6416
Language  : English
Frequency : 2 issues / year       
             วารสารญี่ปุ่นศึกษาเป็นวารสารวิชาการ ราย 6 เดือน (2 ฉบับต่อปี) ที่โครงการญี่ปุ่นศึกษาสถาบันเอเชียตะวันออกศึกษา มหาวิทยาลัยธรรมศาสตร์ จัดพิมพ์ขึ้นโดยมีวัตถุประสงค์เพื่อเผยแพร่ผลการศึกษาและงานวิจัยทุกด้านที่เกี่ยวกับญี่ปุ่นศึกษา ของ คณาจารย์ นักวิชาการ และนักศึกษาระดับปริญญาโทและเอก  เพื่อเป็นเวทีให้คณาจารย์ นักวิชาการ และนักศึกษาระดับปริญญาโทและเอกได้แลกเปลี่ยนความรู้ประสบการณ์ ใช้วารสารเป็นแหล่งต่อยอดองค์ความรู้ที่เป็นประโยชน์ต่อสังคมและการพัฒนาประเทศชาติในเชิงบูรณาการ และเพื่อรายงานให้ผู้อ่านทราบถึงกิจกรรมวิชาการของโครงการญี่ปุ่นศึกษาเพื่อเสริมสร้างความร่วมมือกับองค์กรในเครือข่ายพันธมิตร


 

Articles

Bridging the gaps: new views of Japanese colonialism, 1931-1945 / Sandra Wilson Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร Japanese Studies
ปี 2005
ปีที่ 25 ฉบับที่ 3
หน้า 287-299
ISSN : 1037-1397
DOI: 10.1080/10371390500342790
Abstract
        Recent writing in English shows a range of new approaches to and interpretations of Japanese colonialism between 1931 and 1945. Earlier bodies of work tended to focus on the aims, strategies and structures of Japanese rule throughout the empire, especially the formal empire. Newer studies have not abandoned these concerns, especially in relation to geographical areas, notably Manchuria, that have only just begun to emerge or re-emerge in English-language writing on Japanese colonial practice. At the same time, however, there is now much greater recognition among historians of Japan that the colonial relationship is shaped by the colonised as well as the colonisers; that life in the metropolis itself is affected deeply by its colonies; and that mainstream studies of modern Japanese history should include Japan's formal and informal colonies as a matter of course. In this essay I identify three major trends in works that have appeared in the last five years or so: a spurt of interest in Manchuria and other areas of northern China, a reconsideration of the major stages of empire, and an expanded understanding of what constituted colonialism and who participated in it.

 
Japanese colonial control in international terms / Alexis Dudden Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร : Japanese Studies
ปี 2005
ปีที่ 25 ฉบับที่ 1 
หน้า 1-20
ISSN : 1037-1397
DOI: 10.1080/10371390500067629
Abstract
      Promoters of Meiji Japan's imperialist expansion vied with European and American competitors for control of Korea perhaps more than in any other place in Japan's early empire. Thus, although Korea was not officially colonized until 1910, Meiji officials recognized the need for Japan's new policies toward Korea to make international sense more acutely than in the country's other colonial schemes. Within Japan's expanding empire, therefore, the annexation of Korea most significantly established the perceived legitimacy of Japan as a modern imperial nation. This paper examines this issue by analyzing how the idea of the legitimacy of colonization itself came into being in Meiji Japan. It focuses particularly on the period leading up to annexation during which the development of colonial ‘science’ as an area of specialized knowledge took hold, particularly in relation to Japan's development of Hokkaido.

 
Military revolution in early modern Japan / Matthew Stavros Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร : Japan Studies
ปี 2013
ปีที่ 33 ฉบับที่ 3 
หน้า 243-261
ISSN : 1037-1397
DOI : 10.1080/10371397.2013.831733
Abstract
        Military changes that took place in Japan during the late sixteenth century bear a striking resemblance to those in Europe at about the same time. This essay argues that the Roberts thesis of military revolution – widely applied to Europe – provides a useful framework for identifying a series of cascading developments that, once realized, constituted the fundamental elements of a similar revolution in early modern Japan. These included: the almost universal adoption of firearms, the development of tactics for the effective deployment of those firearms, and finally, a change in the composition and organization of armies leading to the professionalization of warfare. Most important, by revolutionizing the way armies were organized and wars were fought, Oda Nobunaga and Toyotomi Hideyoshi contributed directly to the emergence of new notions of centralized authority that were critical to the creation of a unified and peaceful early modern state.
 
Nation, state, empire and war: problems of liberalism in modern Japanese history and beyond / Tomoko Akami Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร Japanese Studies
ปี 2005
ปีที่ 25 ฉบับที่ 2
หน้า 119-140
ISSN : 1037-1397
DOI: 10.1080/10371390500226043
Abstract
         Liberalism in Japan before 1945 has been understood to be problematic because of its disposition to embrace elitism, nationalism and imperialism. These problems are often argued to have been caused by particular Japanese impediments, such as its history, customs, culture and system, and accordingly it is suggested that a ‘proper’ development of liberalism as seen in the ‘West’ did not occur in Japan. This essay argues that these problems are in fact problems inherent in the internal logic of liberalism in the modern period, and especially in the age of mass-based democracy and of empire. It argues so by expanding the thesis of Berlin on liberty of 1958, and examining the notion of ‘positive liberty’ in particular. The essay argues that the Japanese case articulates an often-neglected and problematic aspect of the discourse of liberalism, and concludes that this aspect needs to be seriously taken into account in an exploration of a critical alternative to currently dominant neo-liberal visions and institutions.

 
Remapping Japanese militarism : provincial society at war 1904-1905 / Stewart Lone Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร Japanese Studies
ปี 2005
ปีที่ 25 ฉบับที่ 1
หน้า 53-63
ISSN : 1037-1397
DOI: 10.1080/10371390500067660
Abstract
     In order to reassess the dominant images of popular militarism or stoic suffering in wartime Japan, this paper takes a street-level view of provincial society during the major conflict with Russia, 1904–1905. It focuses on three main sites of wartime contact between the community and the military: the rail station, the cinema, and the cemetery. By mining local press reports and especially letters to the press from local people, it exposes the diversity of public attitudes towards the war, the military and those in authority; these attitudes include a healthy cynicism and satire towards elites or propaganda, as well as a readiness to express discontent rather than suffer in silence.

 
The Nationalization of Confucianism: Academism, Examinations, and Bureaucratic Governance in the Late Tokugawa State / Kiri Paramore Restricted Resource Some full text available
จากวารสาร : The Journal of Japanese Studies
Society of Japanese Studies
ปี : 2012
ปีที่ 38 ฉบับที่ 1, pages 25-53
ISSN     : 0095-6848
E-ISSN : 1549-4721
Abstract
     This article examines the causes and effects of the shogunate’s establishment of a state academy and examination system from 1788 onward. It concentrates on the role of state academicians in reforming Tokugawa processes of governance, suggesting that they effected the creation of a new structural engagement between knowledge and power which had surprisingly “modern” characteristics. Countering arguments that Neo-Confucian political thought encouraged social stasis and authoritarianism in early modern East Asia, I argue that reforms advanced by Confucians in the late Tokugawa state were usually designed to open government structures to bottom-up input in an attempt to make government more socially responsive.


 

Databases

Database - International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken) openURL
  Databases Open for Public
- Nichibunken Map Collection
- Catalogue of the Research Center for the History of Sino-Japanese Relations
- Namazue Collection
- Noma Archives (Rare European Medical Books)
- Database of images of all rare books in the Nichibunken collection
- The Sōda Collection
- Paintings of Strange Phenomena and Yōkai (Ghosts, Monsters, Spirits)
 
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records, University of Tokyo (JACAR) openURL
      JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. In an effort to share history as it has been documented, JACAR's archives showcase the original records, including full images of the documents, all in digitized form, on an unprecedented scale.
 
JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online) Some full text available
         Full text and index to academic information (journal articles, theses, dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research reports, etc.) accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories. Put together by The National Institute of Informatics (NII). As of April 13, 2012, JAIRO allows approximately 1,308,000 records in 200 institutional repositories to be searched. Search page available in English and Japanese (see the toolbar at the top of the page to switch languages).
 
Bibliography of Japanese history up to 1912 openURL
by Peter Kornicki,  University of Cambridge
     This is a completely revised edition of a bibliography of Japanese history up to the end of the Meiji period which I compiled in 1996 and which was made available to interested parties in a soft cover for a nominal fee. There is no copyright attached to it, and you may print it out or use it in any way you wish.
 
Union Catalogue of Japanese Book in Europe openURL
       This catalogue aims to include all the books bound in Japanese style held in the university libraries,local libraries, museums and other institutions of all European countries.It covers both manuscripts and printed books and both Japanese books and Japanese editions of Chinese and Korean books.
 

Encyclopedias

Japan encyclopedia / Louis Frederic ; translated by Kathe Roth
Print Location: Central Library - 952.003 F852J Some full text available
ISBN : 978-0674017535
Year  : 2002
 
Japan : an illustrated encyclopedia
Print Location: Central Library - 030.952 J35 Some full text available
ISBN : 406205938x
Year : 1994
          A current and comprehensive source of information on contemporary Japanese society, history, and culture. This monumental work is packed with data on the economy, government, and politics of Japan, as well as articles on Japanese art, culture, and history. In addition to the main entries and over 4,000 fullcolor illustrations, nearly 100 feature articles and pictorial essays expand on subjects of particular interest. Features 4,000 color photos and illustrations 2 million words in 12,000 entries Easy-to-use reader's guide to entries 20 pages of maps 14 page bibliography of major works on Japan Japanese-English bilingual title entries and index.
         Content : Japan's natural setting -- History of Japan -- Society -- Economy -- Science and technology -- Culture -- Daily life
 
note:
 

Organizations

Association for Asian Studies openURL
       The Association for Asian Studies (AAS) is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia and the study of Asia. With approximately 8,000 members worldwide, representing all the regions and countries of Asia and all academic disciplines, the AAS is the largest organization of its kind. Through its publications, online resources, regional conferences, and annual conference, the AAS provides its members with a unique and invaluable professional network.
 
International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken) Some full text available
      The mission of the International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken), as an inter-university research institute funded by the government, is to promote and support the study of Japanese culture and history through international collaboration and cooperation and to support the work of Japan scholars in Japanese studies in other countries. Nichibunken organizes team research projects for both Japanese and non-Japanese participants and holds international symposiums on diverse themes every year in Japan and in other countries. Each year, it invites some 15 international scholars in the humanities and social sciences to come to Japan to freely and creatively pursue their scholarly interests using the latest research findings and data.

 3-2 Oeyama-cho, Goryo, Nishikyo-ku, Kyoto 610-1192 Japan
 (075) 335-2222 (from within Japan)
 +81-75-335-2222 (from outside of Japan)
 www-admin@nichibun.ac.jp

 
European Association for Japanese Studies (EAJS)
      The European Association of Japanese Studies (EAJS) was established in 1973 by a group of European scholars in the field of Japanese studies in order to facilitate international academic exchange across national borders. Since 1976 the EAJS has organized a large international conference almost every three years at various locations in Europe, usually at universities with strong programs in Japanese studies. About 600 scholars participated 2008 in the twelfth EAJS Conference. The EAJS also expanded its activities to publish a membership bulletin, since 1997, and in 2000 it started a workshop for doctoral students, which now takes place every 18 months. In 2012/2013 EAJS was able to hold two PhD Workshops (Newcastle and Frankfurt am Main) to answer to the increasing number of applicants. EAJS membership has steadily grown to over 1300 people from about 36 nations. Over the years the elected  presidents of the EAJS have come from many European countries and institutions reflecting the diversity of its membership.
     
    c/o Freie Universität Berlin
    Institute of East Asian Studies
    Japanese Studies
    Hittorfstr. 18
    14195 Berlin, Germany
    Phone: +49-30-838-50929
    Fax:     +49-30-838-4-50931

 
ศูนย์ญี่ปุ่นศึกษา - สถาบันเอเชียตะวันออกศึกษา มหาวิทยาลัยธรรมศาสตร์ openURL
- เพื่อส่งเสริม และสนับสนุน การเรียนการสอน เกี่ยวกับญี่ปุ่น ทั้งในระดับปริญญาตรีและระดับ ที่สูงกว่าปริญญาตรี
- เพื่อเป็นศูนย์กลางในการศึกษาค้นคว้า และวิจัยปัญหาต่างๆ เกี่ยวกับประเทศญี่ปุ่น ที่เกี่ยวข้อง และมีผลกระทบต่อประเทศไทย
- เพื่อเผยแพร่ความรู้ และผลงานวิจัยเกี่ยวกับญี่ปุ่น  ให้แก่สถาบันการศึกษา และมหาชน  ในรูปแบบของสิ่งตีพิมพ์การประชุม สัมมนา และอื่นๆ
- เพื่อเป็นศูนย์กลางในการเก็บรวบรวมข้อมูลทาง ด้านเศรษฐกิจ การเมือง สังคม และวัฒนธรรมของประเทศญี่ปุ่น
 
note: Location  : สถาบันเอเชียตะวันออกศึกษา ในพระราชูปถัมภ์สมเด็จพระเทพรัตนราชสุดาฯ สยามบรมราชกุมารี มหาวิทยาลัยธรรมศาสตร์
Tel.           : 662-564-5000-3
 

Conferences

EAJS International Conferences
European Association for Japanese Studies
     The next EAJS conference will be held at University of Ljubljana in Slovenia in 2014, August 27-30. These events are a good opportunity to meet and talk with a wide range of scholars in the field of Japanese studies from different European countries and Japan. Outstanding scholars from Japan are usually invited as guest speakers and give an overview of recent development in their special field of interest. 
 
Japanese Studies Association of Australia Conference
The Japanese Studies Association of Australia (JSAA) 
       The Japanese Studies Association of Australia (JSAA) Conference is one of the largest gatherings of Japanese Studies scholars and educators in the world, and the Pacific's premier forum for the presentation of research findings in Japanese Studies and interaction among researchers and educators in this field. The 19th Biennial Conference of the JSAA will be held at La Trobe University's Melbourne (Bundoora) Campus from 30 June to 3 July 2015, hosted by the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences with the support ofLa Trobe Asia.
 
Japan Studies Association Conference
The Japan Studies Association 


       

Researcher / Faculty / Person as Information Source

สุรางค์ศรี ตันเสียงสม
รองศาสตราจารย์ ดร.
ภาควิชาประวัติศาสตร์ คณะอักษรศาสตร์ 
จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
ความเชี่ยวชาญ : ประวัติศาสตร์เอเชียตะวันออก
ข้อมูลติดต่อ : ภาควิชาประวัติศาสตร์ คณะอักษรศาสตร์
อาคารบรมราชกุมารี ชั้น 12 จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
  
โทรศัพท์ 02-218-4672 
    
พิพาดา ยังเจริญ
 รองศาสตราจารย์
ภาควิชาประวัติศาสตร์ คณะอักษรศาสตร์
จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
ความเชี่ยวชาญ : ประวัติศาสตร์เอเชียตะวันออก
ข้อมูลติดต่อ : ภาควิชาประวัติศาสตร์ คณะอักษรศาสตร์
อาคารบรมราชกุมารี ชั้น 12 จุฬาลงกรณ์มหาวิทยาลัย
โทรศัพท์ 02-218-4672
e-mail : Pipada.Y@Chula.ac.th

 
Andrew Gordon

Andrew Gordon is the Lee and Juliet Folger Fund Professor of History at Harvard University.
     His teaching and research focus primarily on modern Japan.  He has also taught Japan’s premodern history and courses on comparative history of labor.  He has written, edited, or translated numerous books and has published articles in journals in the United States, Japan, Great Britain, France, and Germany. His most recent publication is Fabricating Consumers: The Sewing Machine in Modern Japan (University of California Press, 2011), on the emergence of the modern consumer in Japan, using the sewing machine as window on that story.  It has been translated into Japanese and published by Misuzu Shobo in 2013. 

Gordon A. A Modern History of Japan, 3rd edition. Oxford University Press; 2013
Gordon A. A Modern History of Japan: From Tokugawa Times to the Present. Oxford University Press; 2002.
Gordon A. The Wages of Affluence: Labor and Management in Postwar Japan. Harvard University Press; 1998
Gordon A. Postwar Japan as History. (Gordon A). University of California Press; 1993

Address:
Reischauer Institute
CGIS S236
1730 Cambridge Street
Cambridge, MA. 02138
Telephone: 617-496-4729
Fax: 617-496-8083
email: agordon [at] fas.harvard.edu

 
Peter Kornicki
Emeritus Professor of Japanese Studies Deputy Warden, Robinson College University of Cambridge

Kornicki, Peter F. (2001). The book in Japan : a cultural history from the beginnings to the nineteenth century. University of Hawai Press.
Peter Kornicki (Ed.) (1993). The Cambridge encyclopedia of Japan. Cambridge University Press.

Address : 
Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
Sidgwick Avenue
Cambridge
CB3 9DA
Tel : +44(0)1223-335106
Email: pk104@cam.ac.uk
 
Philip Seaton

Professor of Modern Japanese Studies Program in Hokkaido University 

Research Keywords : World War II, Collective memory, Yasukuni Shrine, Historical tourism, Hokkaido history

Selected Publications
Seaton, Philip. (2007). Japan’s contested war memories: the memory rifts in historical consciousness of World War II. Routledge.
Philip A. Seaton (Ed.) (2015). Local History and War Memories in Hokkaido. Routledge.
Seaton, Philip. (2006). ‘Reporting the “Comfort Women” Issue, 1991-1992: Japan’s contested war memories in the national press’ in Japanese Studies  26.1, pp. 99-112.


Address :
Modern Japanese Studies Program
Hokkaido University
Office of International Affairs
Kita 15, Nishi 8, Kita-ku, Sapporo
Hokkaido, 060, 0815
+81-(0)11-706-8045 
e-mail : eaton@oia.hokudai.ac.jp

 

Videos

The Great Reversal: The "Rise of Japan" and the "Fall of China" after 1895 as Historical Fables Resource contains video
        From Harvard University's Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies watch a lecture on the "rise of Japan" and the "fall of China" in the late nineteenth century are story lines that dominated Sinology and Japanology in the twentieth century. In the first lecture, Benjamin Elman will use a 2006 website controversy concerning Japan's victory in the Sino-Japanese War of 1894-95 to indicate that in the twenty-first century we are entering new historical terrain vis-à-vis "modern" China and Japan. Wars and cultural history are inseparable. The competing/complementary narratives constructed by the victors and the losers of wars on the ground and at sea enshroud the past in a thick ideological fog. Seeing through the fog created by the "First" (or was it the "Second"? the "Third"?) Sino-Japanese War in 1894-95 allows us to place Sino-Japanese cultural interactions before 1894 in a new light with less teleology and fewer blind spots. The Meiji "rise of Japan" as event and narrative empowered uniquely "modernist" critiques of the "decadence" of Chinese art, traditional Chinese history, and conveniently provided Chinese revolutionaries with a "failed China" in a post-war East Asian world.
The Great Transformation of Japanese Capitalism Resource contains video
By TheDaiwaFoundation
      This presentation posited an alternative analysis of the Japanese economic trajectory since the early 1980s, and argues that whereas policies inspired by neo-liberalism have been presented as a solution to the Japanese crisis, these policies have in fact been one of the causes of the problems that Japan has faced over the past 30 years. Crucially, this book seeks to understand the institutional and organisational changes that have characterised Japanese capitalism since the 1980s, and to highlight in comparative perspective, with reference to the ‘neo-liberal moment’, the nature of the transformation of Japanese capitalism. Indeed, the arguments presented in this book go well beyond Japan itself, and examine the diversity of capitalism, notably in continental Europe, which has experienced problems that in many ways are also comparable to those of Japan.